Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 22 August 2013
I already had a butterfly book, but many of the butterflies were in Europe rather than Britain. Also the illustrations were not always that helpful. In contrast this book is great for someone like myself, starting out with very little knowledge. I suspect those with more knowledge would also find it useful.

Each butterfly has a double page spread, with the text on the left and the images (of which there are sometimes as many as 8) on the right. This makes it very easy to flick through the pages until you get to those similarly coloured for a start - and then you can narrow it down by going through the similar ones more slowly. The images are photos and very clear.

Identifying is aided on each butterfly by a listing of similar looking butterflies and a map showing locations, and there is also a chart showing when they are likely to be flying. All of which I have found invaluable.

Aside from adult identification there is information on each butterfly regarding behaviour, breeding, habitat, population and conservation and eggs, caterpillar and chrysalis.

There is a section at the end of the book on identifying eggs, caterpillars and plant foods which I have not used yet, but I can see might be useful in the future.

All in all I'm very happy with this purchase and will now be looking to buy other books in this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2012
All one could wish to know about British Butterflies is contained in this most informative guide. There are several photographs of each butterfly and helpful tips on behaviour;breeding habits;population and conservation; and egg, caterpillar and chrysalis stages which greatly aid identification. Simply the very best guide available. Grateful thanks to the authors David Newland and Robert Still for producing such a wonderful book. The forward to it is by Dr Martin Warren, Chief Executive of Butterfly Conservation.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
A very good book for carrying in the field in a large pocket - a wax-jacket type pocket and not an ordinary jacket. The illustrations of the butterflies are superb as they are all good photographs. At first I was a little disappointed in not seeing the caterpillars on the same page as the butterfly, but soon discovered that in the caterpillar section having similar looking caterpillars on the same page was then easier to identify to which butterfly it belonged. I particularly liked the column on each page with the butterfly giving particulars such as, map, where to look, wing span, whether common or endangered specie and other useful information.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2015
A perfect guide to the butterflies of Britain. Has lots of information including demographics, and flight times, as well as identification characteristics. It also contains most of the migrants you are likely to see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2013
I heard about this book at a 1 day butterfly course that covered their ecology and life-cycle and identification. I brought the book and it not only covered identification of the fully grown butterfly but the other stages as well. It also had additional details on each butterfly including their food plant, distribution and habitat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2014
Anyone with the slightest interest in British butterflies should buy this book,it has all the information you need on all species of British butterflies,and the photographs are brilliant,buy it now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2014
I wanted a simple guide to UK butterflies and this book provides all the information that I need. With an increase in butterflies in my garden I wanted an accurate and concise guide and this is it. Just the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2013
This is an excellent book for anyone who is serious about Butterflies. Very informative,well laid-out and well written. The photographs are excellent too. So glad that i chose it.

Phil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2013
compact size - easy to put in your pocket - great pictures and easy cross reference.
pages coated to prevent staining
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is a great book with clear photographs and interesting literature regarding our local species.
I bought this for a friend but will be getting one for myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)