Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the 34th story in the Main Range series by Big Finish, first released in 2002. Written by Marc Platt, this story features the Fifth Doctor (Peter Davison), travelling with Nyssa (Sarah Sutton). This story has, quite rightly, come to be considered one of the ‘classics’ of the Big Finish Doctor Who range, and for good reasons.

Nobody had, until this story, really tackled the idea of a Cyberman origin story. The Cybermen first appeared in the classic tv series in the 1966 story The Tenth Planet, which was also incidentally the last story of the First Doctor’s incarnation, as played by William Hartnell. At the end of that story, in another first for Doctor Who, the Doctor regenerated into his next incarnation, played by Patrick Troughton.

The Cybermen, in The Tenth Planet, emerged to our view as a fully formed threat – from Earth’s twin planet Mondas, where, as a means of preserving themselves on their increasingly hostile planet environment, they had implanted artificial parts in their people, which in turn led to them becoming imbued with no emotions, losing their ‘humanity’. Thus they were a threat to other races, and in The Tenth Planet, their plan is to take humans from Earth back to Mondas, to transform them into Cybermen.

The Cybermen have, over the years, changed in their appearance, but their nature remains cybernetic and brutal, emotionless and calculating. This story offers a point from which to view their beginnings – on the planet of Mondas itself, but more from the perspective of how the changing of the people of Mondas into Cybermen impacted on the Mondasians. Thus, while we know that the Cybermen will go on, and we know some of the stories in which they are to become involved in their future, this tragic tale offers an understanding of how they came about. A hugely ambitious undertaking, and one which has been skilfully written, perfectly performed, and wonderfully presented to us in this audio story.

When the Tardis lands, the Doctor realises quickly where they are, and wants to leave. He knows he can’t stop the evolution and the actions of the future Cybermen he has met over his incarnations, but circumstances are such that he and Nyssa become involved in the affairs of Mondas, at its most critical juncture – and from there, only tragedy can ensue.

Peter Davison as the Doctor, and Sarah Sutton as Nyssa, play their roles perfectly – their characters are fully written and developed, and it’s absolutely right to see them under stress, reacting, and sometimes badly to what is going on round them. The other characters, including the ‘ordinary’ family of Dad, Yvonne and Frank Hartley are representative of those on Mondas, and those suffering as the planet dies, and their leaders search desperately for solutions. But the cost of those solutions will be borne by the people, as we know, and it is these characters who we come to know who will bear the brunt of Mondas’s future.

Kathryn Guck as Yvonne, Paul Copley as Dad, and Jim Hartley as Frank, are all wonderful in their parts. Similarly, the parts of Sisterman Constant (Pamela Binns) and Doctorman Allan (Sally Knyvette) are brilliantly written and performed. Thomas Dodd, as the ‘Shylockian’ character is wonderfully portrayed by Derren Nesbitt. This is a fantastic story; a tragedy, where we know the outcome and the future, but we are fully engaged with the present as it unfolds. A story that is, and will remain a classic in the Doctor Who universe.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
A fantastic tale by Mark Platt and it features Peter Davison and Sarah Sutton. An early Cyberman story set before THE TENTH PLANET. This is a highly reccomended release.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
My nephew likes the doc who audio cd he's very happy with the audio cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
I have been listening to the Big Finish Doctor Who dramas on and off since 2000 and I consider most of the stories to be good and entertaining, although some of them are a little disposable and unworthy of replaying or even keeping. A select few of them really stand out though and Spare Parts demands repeated listenings because it is such an excellent, dark and dramatic story; finely written, well acted and meticulously recorded/produced in details that are completely faithful to the early Cyberman stories as well as providing an excellent genesis story for the Cybermen and working as a chilling and atmospheric stand-alone drama for the more casual fan.

I don't want to go into too much detail about the production because I don't want to spoil it for you if you haven't heard it yet, but if you aren't a regular subscriber to the Big Finish Dr Who series and can't afford to buy all the CDs then I can highly recommend this story as one of the greatest. Easily in the top 5, slugging it out with "Jubilee" for the top spot.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the thirty fourth release from Big Finish in their range of full cast audio adventures starring classic Doctor Whos. It stars Peter Davison as Five and Sarah Sutton as Nyssa. There are four episodes, roughly 25-30 minutes each, complete with original theme music between each, and cliff hanger endings. Two episodes per disc on 2 discs, and a short booklet with some pictures of the cast and production notes.

This is a corker of a story. Five and Nyssa land on a planet much like Earth, but everything seems to be underground. The Doctor has some suspicions as to where they are, which are soon borne out. He and Nyssa are soon thrown into an adventure where they are presented with a variety of moral problems regarding the formation of one of the Doctor's oldest enemies - the Cybermen. It's a story right up there with Genesis of the Daleks as a thoughtful tale with some rip-roaring adventure along the way.

The production is excellent. Nicely tying in with established Cyber-mythology, and strongly reminiscent of the Cybermen encountered by the First Doc in Tenth Planet. The gradual transformation of the proto cybermen to the fully formed article as the story progresses is achieved with subtlety and attention to detail. The script is very intelligent and emotionally literate, giving us some quite touching scenes, and a few big shocks. The supporting cast, especially Derren Nesbitt, Paul Copely and Sally Knyvette are top rate, and give us characters that we can understand and connect with. Davison and Sutton are also on great form, showing us the compassion of the characters, the panic as the situation gets out of control, and managing to explore the nature of the relationship between the two in a touching and believable way.

For me this right up there with them as one of the best Who adventures - classic TV, Nu Who, Audio, book or other medium. It stands prodly alongside Daemons, Genesis Of the Daleks or Caves of Androzani. 5 stars, I wish I could give it more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Now this, was truly a bittersweet joy. The listener knows how it ends but you wish it were otherwise. It also has an interesting curve.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 May 2015
This is a four part audio drama with Peter Davison as the Fifth Doctor and Sarah Sutton reprising her role as Nyssa from that era of tv Who.

It’s a complex, surprising production that keeps you guessing as to which way it’s going to jump in terms of its direction. The 50’s setting alien world of Mondas makes you think initially that it is going to overdose on quirkiness. But then it plays out as a classic, chilling Cyberman adventure that does not downplay the horror of the conversion process or the loss of humanity and identity it involves for the poor souls involved. The Cybermen here are modelled on those of the Troughton era, with their never bettered drawn out synth voiced monotones. “Youuuuuu willll beee like usss….” Gary Russell does a fantastic job of world building on his Mondas. It’s a world stuck in the 50’s due to the squalor and retrogression caused by living underground on a dying world, whose path is wandering into that of a nebula. The underground survivors send selected enlisted parties to the surface to try and start the giant propulsion engines that may move their planet to safety. It’s a world of curfews, power-cuts, dimly lit streets, boarded up shops and homes, tram-stops, and a town-square with a huge “Committee Palace” with iron gates where the mysterious committee rule. Meanwhile cyber augmentation runs through this society like veins of silver through rock. The classic cyber-mat creatures scuttle through the streets like vermin. People have augmented budgies for pets, and cyber chest units and artificial limbs to help with medical difficulties. It’s a technology in its infancy. Meanwhile cyber augmented police on cyber augmented horses keep order. And this all heading in a direction that the Doctor, and us if we know our Who history, know only too well.

The Doctor and Nyssa arrive on Mondas, with the Doctor clearly knowing where he is and immediately filled with foreboding. They find a struggling family, the Hartleys, Yvonne (Kathryn Gluck), Dad (Paul Copley), and Frank (Jim Hartley). Dad has a chest unit and Frank dreams of being enlisted to the surface which fills Dad with horror. Dad loves his tea and Yvonne is consumptive but popular in the community and pretty much the glue in the family. The actors bring all these characters to believable life and make the distinctly odd setting believable. And when horrible cyber things do happen to certain family members, you really feel it and are appalled by it.

The Hartley’s, the Doctor and Nyssa become tied up with the comically horrible body-snatcher Thomas Dodd (Derren Nesbitt) whilst being watched by the snooping official Sisterman Constant (Pamela Binns) in discovering the terrible truth about the hidden Committee and its plans. On the way they meet a Doctor involved in leading the cyber augmentation, the conflicted Doctorman Allan, and come face to face with a Cyber nemesis Zheng (played by Big Finish stalwart Nicholas Briggs). The Doctor finds he must do what he can to bring a kind of redemption to Mondas without breaking the strictures of history, his own prime directive.

The story surprises, scares and entertains and has some truly memorable ideas, scenes and set pieces, and I won’t spoil them for you, but the revelation of the true nature of the Committee is a treat. The production scores on every level. The 50’s level is a rich and resonates with themes from that era, such as the Stalinist Committee and it’s Palace to the domestic scenes of the Hartley family. The Cybermen are a nasty and dehumanising evil here, and a fitting monster for our current age of upgrades and increasing reliance on technology and apps.

Get a copy if you can. I was staggered to see it selling on Amazon for £90, but I grabbed a copy for a tenner from a high street genre comic/book store. And you can download it for £2.99 on the Big Finish Web site.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I was not really a fan of the Big Finish 'Dr.Who' audios until a friend recommended 'Spare Parts'. I gave it a go, and was stunned. Brilliant in practically every respect. In fact, it is a candidate for the title 'Best Cyberman Story Ever'. Set during the Peter Davison era, it is an origin story for Kit Pedler and Gerry Davis' monsters, but cleverly avoids duplicating the plot of 'Genesis Of The Daleks'. Marc Platt's fine script is done justice by director Gary Russell and the cast, among them Sally Knyvette of 'Blake's 7'. Davison ( an underrated Doctor, in my view ) has never been better. Some ideas were apparently reused in the television episodes 'Rise Of The Cybermen/Age Of Steel' in 2006, but take it from me, this is superior.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here