Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 8 August 2001
...I could go on. This book contains everything that the Flash 5.0 beginner could wish to know, including detailed chapters on basic ActionScript. The style is easy to read, often witty and always informative - the 'case study' exercises at the end of each chapter are a great way to practice what you learn as you go along. I read all 606 pages in just over 2 days - if you want to learn Flash 5.0 then buy this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2000
this book is excellent by far better than previous books at explaining the overall layout of flash and its capabilities.Amanda Farr(author) has taken her time to really talk through every little aspect no matter how trivial, so you get a real feel of the whole interface.I bought several books in the past for Flash 4 and felt they left me off in limboland after introducing me to flash they do not take the effort to progress forward and further my skills. this book however,is a godsend Actionscript,is broken down and explained properly and gives you a good platform to lift off from. past books dealt with this in a bout five pages, but here they have put aside 2 chapters for you ,this book is for anyone who wants to grasp actionscript, progress(with the help of next book)further and be really creative in their work. i highly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2001
For someone starting out along the very long and twisting road that is Flash, this is as good a start as anywhere. It's much better for instance than the manual that comes in the box, and for that matter, much better by far than the Visual Quickstart Guides. Which in my opinion are next to useless and only any good as replacements for the manual if you haven't got one. Not only does Foundation Flash teach you the programme itself, you also get a very good insight into the creative technical knowledge that is so very important during the process of learning Flash. The only problem with this book is that the authors assume (wrongly) that you're a complete idiot and need to be spoken to as though you're a three year old. For anyone with any degree of intelligence, this makes the book very hard going indeed. The authors have seemed to forgotten that anyone starting with Flash must have a bit of intelligence, otherwise you wouldn't be starting out with Flash in the first place. However, after pages 500 or so the authors make a point of informing you that you're now not a beginner but a novice, and to much welcome relief start to pick up the pace a little. Hopefully the rest of the series, which continue on from this book, carry on in the same vein. If they do, they should be highly enjoyable and a joy to read and learn from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2000
Having never used any version of Flash I found this book very useful, comfortable to read and humourous in parts, its like reading a book the way a friend would show you how to do something.
A little more detail could have been given to actionscipt than the 2 chapters toward the end of the book, but overall a fantastic book and well worth the little money.
I used this book in preparation for an advanced flash 5 programming course, (bit ambitious), and found it put me in very good stead for the course material
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2001
For someone starting out along the very long and winding road that is Flash, this is as good a start as anywhere. It's much better for instance than the manual that comes in the box, and for that matter, is much better by far than the Visual Quickstart Guides. Which in my opinion are next to useless and only any good as replacements for the manual if you haven't got one. Not only does Foundation Flash teach you the program itself, you also get a very good insight into the creativity that is so very important during the process of learning Flash. Unfortunately the book is rather elementary, and this tends to make the book very hard going indeed. However, after pages 500 or so the authors make a point of informing you that you're not a beginner but a novice, and to much welcome relief, start to pick up the pace a little. This seems to be the only one of the series that suffers from this problem, as the other books that follow on from this one are nowhere near so tiresome, and a joy to read and learn from. But you do need to start with Foundation Flash if you don't know the program. Don't make the same mistake as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2001
This is a fantastic book, which will teach anyone to really use Flash 5 well. Having never used any version of Flash before reading this book, I now feel confident enough to develop a full multimedia web site using flash. I would thoroughly recommend this book to any one wishing to learn and use Flash 5, a real 5 star book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2002
This is the book to get you started in flash action scripting, clearly worded for the novice to understand, good use of examples with sample .fla files to download at your convenience as you work through the book.
I'll be buying all the books in this series.
Buy it, highly recommended !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2001
I've bought a few tutorial books on computing/multimedia subjects and FriendsOfED seem to excel beyond other publishers/authors in teaching the program in such a way that you really feel that you can fully grasp the concepts. I've used Flash 4 then Flash 5 (very limited use) for the past year and only so far created armature animations. Whilst this is partly due the lack of time I've had available to explore the program, it's mainly due to not having a comprehensive, coherent tutorial to work through.
I would fully recommend this book not just to the complete beginner, but also to those who have used Flash as I have. I'm now excited to move onto Flash 5 Studio and intermediate Actionscripting.
It would be a shame if FriendsOfEd didn't publish a series of books on Director.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2001
As a person who hates reading a load of theory but loves examples and exercises this book was perfect!
There are a couple of minor mistakes in the book, but if you've paid attention they will be no prob. what so ever. I've already bought Flash Studio and am looking forward to buying and working through the rest of the series..
Great Stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2001
A clear, concise and non-jargon guide to getting a solid knowledge base in place. The combination of study with the program then the case study involvement make learning easy and at the end of every easy to read, slide right by chapter, you get to impress and surprise yourself with the skills you're leaning.
A HUGE thank you to the authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)