Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2011
Bang up to date (at the time of writing - December 2011), this 9th edition was only published in September 2011, so the information's written in the context of the latest case law.

I'm an Equality Officer in the local branch of my trade union, and represent union members, my colleagues and co-workers, on a regular basis, both in equality discrimination cases and for day to day employment issues. This latest edition of 'Employment Law' has a substantial section on the Equality Act 2010, as well as advice on running a discrimination case and checklists.

The knowledge it provides updates my TU training. Even though my last ERA (Employment Relations Act) update training to update my knowledge of relevant legislation, which we're required to do every 4-5 years, was only 18 months ago, there have been significant changes in some areas of legislation - in particular the area of equality legislation with the Equality Act 2010. 'Employment Law' is essential reading for any trade union rep who wants to keep their knowledge up to date and on a par with (or sometimes ahead of, depending how efficient they are!) their HR officers.

Maybe a little on the pricey side for every TU rep to own a copy, but every union office should have a copy or two of this book for its reps to refer to when representing members.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE DEFINITIVE TEXT ON EMPLOYMENT LAW FOR ADVISERS AND NON-LAWYERS TOO: NOW IN IT'S NINTH EDITION

An appreciation by Phillip Taylor MBE and Elizabeth Taylor of Richmond Green Chambers

If you're a practitioner preparing a case for an employment tribunal or representing your client, the new edition of `Employment Law' by Tamara Lewis should be your next must-have purchase. Even if you are not a lawyer but advising a client, please note that this book is Claimant focussed and therefore relevant to you, whether you're an employee, or employer.

Published by the ever reliable and knowledgeable Legal Action Group, this new edition offers literally a wealth of plain, practical, advice which should save you a lot of time and money in the event of a claim. It should certainly steer you in the direction of what questions to ask your professional adviser.

Since the publication of the previous edition, this new ninth edition contains vital new material on such issues as the Equality Act 2010, multiple discrimination, the consequences of the abolition of the default retirement age and the new rights relating to paternity leave. There are new agency worker regulations which you've probably heard about - and, particularly if you are an employer, or in-house legal adviser, you should be aware of the new laws against the blacklisting of trade unionists.

As Tamara Lewis points out, the practical emphasis of the book dictates that as much space is devoted to evidence, precedents and checklists as to setting out the law. So usefully, there are ample resources for your further research, including index and appendices, together with tables of cases, statutes, statutory instruments and a table of European legislation. The book is up to date as at August 2011.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
To plagiarise the words of a certain long running TV advert Tamara Lewis' Employment Law: An Advisor's Handbook does pretty much exactly what the title suggests it does on its cover.

I am a new volunteer workplace advisor and without putting too much of a dampener on trade union training courses this book has equipped me with the knowledge to understand the role more than the courses. Written in an accessible style Lewis provides workplace representatives and, for that matter, employees with a handy reference guide to the law as it stands.

This is a must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Must have guide to defend yourself against none compliant emloyer, forget the union sometime union are useless get employment protection insurance and defend disciplinary yourself. not giving full 5 star it would give more on process of tribunal and set out for it more easy understanding. use www.gov.uk for updated and changes to the law. If i could get a copy of RMT union rep handbook it would be better then this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
You can't impress the Judge but it can give you some kind of knowledge. From my own experience the Judge does prefer to speak to a solicitor. Do not try to defend your case on your own. The first battle It is not about your case, its about procedures and they are not explained in these book. If you can't follow procedures and you are not familiar how to use them the judge will strike out your case that's to new rules in 2015.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
A great book if your having problems at work, easy to read and understand, note that this version is out of date though, a few things have changed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Has proved invaluable in assisting with problems at work. Easy to read and follow for any employee who has issues and contractual problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone involved in employment law. Those providing advice, in HR, employee relations etc. Great read.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
This item was dispatched promptly and arrived in good time, exactly as it was described in the listing. Overall, I was very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Great book especially if you are a union rep easy to understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)