Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2003
...if so, then this one's for you.
This story is a beautiful children's piece, which can inspire nostalgia in even the most hardened adults (like me!). It's a tale of eco-friendly rare-beast saving, with the creatures in question being even more cutely alarming than the slugs five-year-olds tend to bring in from the garden.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
i loved this book as a child and decided to treat my seven year old son to it as a birthday "stocking filler". It is easy to read and has lovely characters in that you will remember fondly. Another bargain from Amazon
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This gripping adventure manages to tackle difficult topics with aplomb. An unloved 10 year old girl finds acceptance and family via rescuing a 'bogwoppit' - creatures that when untamed are quite unpleasant. Perhaps it's the unsentimental approach, and the depiction of the resilience of such children but the story manages to stay on the right side of believable - and has a happy ending.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
I loved book when I was little and was worried it wouldn't live up to my memory of it. But it does. It's a compelling and fast paced story, peopled by great characters like heroic children battling unpleasant aunts and of course the mischevious, mercurial, muddy but adorable bogwoppits (I still wish I could have one!). Why this one hasn't become one of the classics is a mystery
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I used to read Bogwoppit to my daughter when she was a little girl and it was a great favourite with both of us. We even nicknamed our dog after Bogwoppit! We still talk about it some 35 years later, in fact, I am going to buy a copy of it for her 40th birthday later this month!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
good quality, nice condition, great and very english story, we had lots of fun reading it.More people should be aware of bogwoppits.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
I ordered this for my 8 year old son, remembering that I had loved it as a child. What a joy to revisit this tale!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This is a lovely edition of a favourite childhood story, Ursula Moray Williams Bogwoppit, is a great story that I loved as a child.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
I remember reading this book when I was a child and was totally enthralled by it. I was so pleased to find it on Amazon that I didn't hesitate in buying it for my daughter for Christmas and she seems to love it as much as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Ordered book for my nephew who loved it from start to finish!! Very well written and very funny in parts!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse