Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2008
My mother used to read "Green Smoke" and all the other R Dragon stories to my brother and I at bed-time. The first page of "Green smoke" is one of the best pieces of child-orientated descriptive writing I've seen in a long while.

"I'm for Constantine Bay"!!!!!!!

You've just got to read this book. And if you can't read, then look at the wonderful pictures!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I read this to my 5 year old and she loved it, (and I even enjoyed the story) I particularly liked that it is based around Cornwall and around a real beach/bay, It mentions real places and we even took a trip to the cave where the Dragon lived!! Great for children's imagination!! would highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This book is made up of a series of engaging chapters that each stand alone whilst being part of an overarching theme. We read it from start to finish over several nights as a bed time story but it will also make a good 'dip into' book. Aimed at 6-10 year olds(?)it is well written in accessible grammar and introduces us to some of the folklore of Cornwall (including the death of Arthur) in an age appropriate way via 2 highly sympathetic protagonists (Susan and R. Dragon). Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2008
I saw this book and remembered enjoying it as a child. I've just read it to my kids, aged 8 and 6, who are really into castles, Arthurian legends etc, partly due to the Merlin TV series. We all loved the tales within the story, the timeless seaside setting and the quirky humour and I was delighted to rediscover it. Green Smoke is funny, imaginative and charming and not nearly as dated as many other old favourites I have inflicted on my children. The dragon is a wonderfully real character, a bit like a magical Victor Meldrew. My only problem, as a parent, was the feckless attitude of Susan's mother to her little girl clambering alone into caves on the beach... Needless to say, my kids thought this was the best bit! We would now love to read The Dragon's Quest, but I am disappointed to see it is out of print, as all the best books seem to be these days, in favour of endless series about the same tedious fairies...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Its ok, but just hasn't quite got a good enough story to hold your interest - mine or 5&7 year old.
Something like the Jill Murphy's Worst Witch is a load better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
A cute little story, very much reminded me of the Enid Blyton classics from my childhood, kids will like it and adults surprisingly will do too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Used with my Year 2 class - they loved the story and several went out to buy the book themselves.
Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Had this read to me when i was at school. Loved it so I've bought it for my granddaughter to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
A wonderful story for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Grandchildren loved this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.