Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
94
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2011
I read his first book and thought that it was a great piece of travel writing, but this was simply wonderful. Al humphrey's achievement was hugely impressive and his writing matches that achievement. He said he wanted to become a travel writer, well now he is and a very good one at that. More please...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
Thunder and Sunshine is an excellent book for those in search of an honest account of an epic adventure. Alastair tells his story with charm and humour, steering clear of hyperbole and braggadocio.

His is one of a very few adventure books which capture the spirit of life on the road.

Reading Thunder and Sunshine, I felt as if I was along for the ride. I was uplifted as chance meetings with strangers developed into friendships, thrilled as he summited a high Andean pass and devastated as he faced headwinds in Patagonia.

The entire book is peppered with anecdotes like the time a busload of Peruvians warned him of bandits ahead and then sped off leaving him alone to ponder his fate.

But be warned: Alastair has inspired hundreds of individuals (myself included) to set off on a long-distance bicycle tour. If you pick up Thunder and Sunshine, you may just find yourself joining the growing ranks of two-wheeled wanderers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I was given this as part of a bundle for my birthday and spent a very happy holiday reading by the side of a pool. A really enjoyable and inspiring book. I'd heartily recommend it to anyone who is a bit of an armchair explorer like myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
This book is a good travelog and shows what can be achieved through perseverance and determination. The author overcame low points, problems and despair and yet achieved his goals.Very entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Beautifully written account of a huge, incredible journey.
Some of the best travel writing I have read for a while.
Couldn't stop reading this unbelievable journey.
Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Read Moods of Future Joy first! The journey continues withe same great indomitable spirit and good humoured humanity! Very humbling achievement from a true adventurer and life philosopher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Excellent sequel, more of the same good stuff. Really interesting perspective on cycling and travel writing. Travelling through South America and Russia are the most interesting bits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
awe inspiring, fantastic journey, great guy, like mallory he dared to dream the unthinkable and he succeeded and came back alive. What an amazing, wonderful venture and end product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
I found this great, and Alastair completely mad in cycling in Russia in Winter!! Great for armchair travellers.It made me want to go to distant, but less arduous places.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
After reading the prequel to this book i had to buy this book. What an incredible adventure. It makes you want to drop everything and go on an adventure, truly inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)