Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2015
I can concur with other reviewers these books are absolutely fantastic! All 3 books are small enough for your pocket or handbag, yet jam-packed with information. Book 1 has 13 walks - books 2 & 3 12 walks. Each walk starts with a map that is really easy to use - the map has places of interest marked on them - so that you can't miss stuff - for sure, you will see things you wouldn't have done without these books. After the map each walk has an outstanding narrative on the places of interest so you can get the most out of your walk. As well as all the historical stuff there are suggestions of places to eat and drink. Some of the pubs in these guides are truly amazing! The photos in these books are beautiful too! Thank You Stephen Millar. Can't wait for volume 4 :)
Walks in Volume 3
Belgravia
Islington
Highgate
Paddington & Marylebone
Hammersmith & Chiswick
Brixton & Brockwell Park
Lambeth North & Borough
Greenwich
North Greenwich & Silvertown
Whitechapel & Bow
Bethnal Green & Hackney Wick
Lee Valley & Olympic Park
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
These books are fantastic and the routes are fascinating with lots of hidden gems along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
An excellent addition to Stephen Millar's series, fanning out in all directions from Central London and from the City with some really attractive walks in less "obvious" areas covered by the first two volumes. Many of the areas covered are full of individual character and indeed are often referred to as "London's villages". Centrally we get walks of Paddington and Belgravia. North London is served by walks of Highgate and Islington, and South London by Brixton. Millar goes east of the City with Whitechapel, and Bethnal Green. South of the Thames, at last we get a magnicient walk of Greenwich and also North Greenwich (home of the O2 Arena). The fringes of Essex are explored in the Lea Valley walk. There are clear maps, nice long routes for getting fit, learning alot and enjoying the local amenities. Great not only for visitors and armchair walkers, but also for London guides who now specialise in many of these areas too. Marvellous.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
Just as good as Vols 1 and 2. Can't wait to go back to London to try out some more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Fun and reasonably accurate. A good way to explore London with lots of interesting detail. Lots of Choices of area and some suggestions of where to eat. One suggestion has become my favourite place to eat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Now have all 3 London walks, great guides with so much detail.If you are interested in finding out more about our great Capital City,these guides are hard to beat
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
If for you are going to, or want to remember and relive London, all this series is a must. A good size for travelling, and very interesting before and after the trip. Lots of fascinating history, old and new, and lots of interesting details most people wont know. This book is like having a local, in the know person with you. All three volumes tell you about the real London, and waste no pages on describing posh hotels or very expensive restaurants. This is an excellent volume, but I recommend to buy all three.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
This is the first of the guides that I've bought and I found it really fascinating. I tried out the Hammersmith and Chiswick walk which was really enjoyable and the only criticism I have is the lack of more precise route details, which even with an A to Z made some sections a bit confusing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Excellent book and the quality of the first two volumes is maintained. I think this series is the best of the London-walks guide books out there. The only slight criticism is that the maps are sometimes not quite detailed enough to easily find the correct turnings during the walks, but since the books are condensed in this is perhaps inevitable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
A great set of walking guides with clear directions and interesting facts along the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)