Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11

on 28 September 2016
very good and amusing.......as most recepies and ideas are fairly dated.....which is doing very well this year dropping lots of fruit and this book has given me plenty of ideas of how to use them in excellent traditional ways...And a great price too...thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2013
Excellent recipes. I have several of these "little" books and although small and compact they hold a wealth of good quality recipes and are better than most of the larger mainstream, famous people recipe/chef cook books currently on the market so, if you just want to cook good food with clear concise instructions and easy to obtain ingredients the books are for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2015
Great recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2014
I like the handy format and have tried many recipes, all with success. Reminds me of my childhood and my grandparents' kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
Gorgeous illustrated booklet with an array a yummy apple dishes for you to try . Its really worth getting many Salmon books in the series to build up a stunning little collection of foodies delight .

Anyone close to your heart should really appreciate the good old fashioned warming and conforting apple dishes in here . You cannot get the same from the shops - everything in comparison thats bought wont be anything like the real home made affair ..!!

I fell in love with this handbag size art ?? booklet it really does combine food with art and thats something people only tend to apply that word to the item they make ..this really is art and food ..simple to make all you do is sit back and appreciate ..even if you dont wish to cook anything its just a real pleasure to look and hold this booklet and just drink the experience in ..a little gem of find and i hope to get more books ..yet to make the things featured but im sure i will .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2012
I recently bought this book for my daughter as she has apple trees in her garden with an abundent crop. She absolutely loved this book. It is inexpensive but packed full of good recipes. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 March 2012
Jane Austen said "good apple pies are a considerable part of our domestic happiness" and one can understand that opinion as a good warm apple pie can invoke dreamy memories (and not those that were shown in the "American Pie" film either!). Yet the apple is an often under-estimated ingredient in cooking, despite its versatility in both food and drink affairs.
This "Favourite Apple Recipes" book is another in a long series of pocket-sized and friendly books that feature many oft-forgotten, uncommon English recipes, This modest 48 page tome features 34 diverse apple recipes ranging from old favourites such as an apple crumble and apple pudding to more rarified delights such as apple gingerbread, apple and potato cake or even an apple, raisin and cider tea bread.
One can surely state that there will be at least a few recipes that you've never heard of, let alone tried before. Yet one does not need to be a kitchen genius to try these recipes, each featured on their own page, as despite the lack of food illustrations one gets sufficient information from the concise, to-the-point instructions. A very brief history or explanation about the dish's development is provided as well for the curious.
As with other books in this series, one does not even have to plan to cook the various recipes in order to benefit from it as the timeless sepia images of rural England can provide a dreamy excursion back to a more innocent age. But you would be advised to don your apron and prove to yourself that the humble apple is, in fact, a versatile beast.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2007
...featured in this book of the Salmon Favourite Recipe series.

'With its huge range of dessert and cooking varieties, the apple is the easiest to use and most readily available of fruits.
It can be incorporated into a wide selection of recipes for puddings, cakes, preserves and sauces.'

Paperback format with 48 quality pages, covering 34 recipes.

This charming little book opens with an alphabetical list of the recipes contained within.
Each recipe opens with the title, a relevant note, the list of ingredients plus the method.
Metric Conversion tables are given on the last page before a complete list of the titles in the Salmon series on the inside back cover.

Interspersed with sepia-coloured illustrations, from A R Quninton, my particular favourite being of 'Springtime at Cropthorne, Worcestershire', on page 17, alongside a tasty recipe for 'Apple and Damson Fool'.

Other recipes include:

* Apple Charlotte
* Apple Dumplings
* Apple In and Out
* Apple & Parsnips
* Apple Pasties
* Apple & Potato Cake
* Apple, Raisin and Cider Teabread
* Apple Tart
* Baked Apples with Butterscotch
* Caramelised Apple Cream
* Chicken & Apple Cheesebake
* Malvern Apple Pudding
* Pippin Pie
* Swede & Apple Bake
* Toffee Apples
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2009
Lovely collection of 34 apple recipes.

Apple & Bramble Crumble
Apple Charlotte
Apple Cheesecakes
Apple & Cheese Pie
Apple Custard Pudding
Apple & Damson Fool
Apple Delight
Apple Dumplings
Apple Gingerbread
Apple In and Out
Apple Meringue
Apple Pancakes
Apple & Parsnips
Apple & Potato Cake
Apple Pudding
Apple, Raisin & Cider Teabread
Apple Scones
Apple Slices
Apple Tart
Baked Apples with Butterscotch
Blackberry & Apple Pudding
Buttered Apples
Caramelised Apple Cream
Chicken & Apple Cheesebake
Dessert Apple Cake
Malvern Apple Pudding
Nut & Apple Cake
Onion & Apple Pie
Pippin Pie
Pork & Apple Pudding
Spicy Apple Sauce Cake
Swede & Apple Bake
Toffee Apples

No photos of any finished dish, so not one for cooks that require photos for guidence/inspiration.

There are a few recipes in this book that are duplicated in others of this range, but overall a nice collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2014
good booklet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)