Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2013
very good book for those walking this gem of a path. I have to be honest though, I tend to use my 1:25,000 map for navigating and just use this as a reference book for looking up history in specific places of interest found along the path. Well worth the money and a 'must buy' if you do walk this path.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
decent map good detail
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2017
Very good, photos, routes points of interest all good and well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Ideal breakdown of the coastal path
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Sensible guide. Doesn't omit important points like the effect of tides on practical progress. Included maps are a useful size, but you'll need to take sheet maps with you to see the wider picture

Alan
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I found this really helpful and useful when planning our scout hikes when we were camping on Anglesey this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Great help
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Thoroughly researched and contemporary from contents page to well described sections, more than a walking book covering diverse topics related to the Isle of Anglesey / Ynys Mon. History, ornithology, archeology. Warning and safety sections absolutely necessary given the coastal nature of most of the paths. Each section has a overview followed by more detailed description of the walk with an OS map section included. Clear photographs are included for each walk. The book size is compact and easy to use in the field whilst the recommend purchase of the 2 OS maps that cover the area. Points of interest are covered to for each section which helps to make the walk more interesting. Overall is appears to a thoroughly usable book. I,m very fond of Anglesey and have frequently visited over the years even as a temporary warden in the 90s it's a diverse and fascinating island and his book seems capture it's appeal in an absorbing format which I would recommend
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
Living in Llandudno on the West Shore my home overlooks Anglsea and it was only recently i had a go at certain sections of this coastal path opened by the then First Minister of Wales Rhodrey Morgan in the spring of 2006.

I went with friends walking the 8k route around Newborough Forest in gorgeous weather and saw these now familiar blue oval signs dipicting a Tern flying high above the waves.

Living so close to Anglsea and being a regular visitor to certain parts of the island i asked myself why had i not bothered to walk this fairly gentle 125mile route around this ancient island.

Another favorite spot is Aberffraw because the visitor centre there has one amazing tea room selling homemade Coffee and Carrot cake to die for.

I walked the section from Rhosneiger all the way back to Newborough in lovely weather yet again and felt a total calm at the stunning views towards the Llyn Peninsula and the Eivals near Trevor.

None of the walking around the Island is particularly strenuous and only the section from Pentraeth to Amlwch could be described as challenging for the trully unfit person with certain sections the other side of Llygwy Beach a little bit confusing.

As you approach Dulas you pass through numerous fields where one has to physically search for the path because at times its not very clear where it goes.It takes you slightly inland due to the lie of the land and it is this section that might tire the unfit walker as the terrain is far from level.

Really i am being a little unfair due to the fact that in all i had to walk a rather long 21 miles because having walked this section of path all the way to Amlwch i had to retrace my steps back to my car in Moelfre.

It was only then that i thought this section of the path was particularly challenging due to the length of my walk.

The real highlite of the entire path has to be the section from Bull Bay just the other side of Amlwch.

This is real coastal walking at its very best with the sudden appearence of the disused brickworks in Porth Wen a real highlite in lovely weather.

From Porth Wen to Porth Cyfan is coastal walking at its most dramatic with small sections of the path very exposed indeed.

My first attempt at this section of the path will remain with me for many years to come for the sheer beauty and solitude of the Irish Sea and sea cliffs..

This is where the beauty of the path comes in handy because i did a double traverse of this Moelfre Amwlch section having to return to my car in Moelfre, and along the path there are many handy parking places that with the use of this guide will surely make walking this path a lot easier for the unfit.

The official path actually starts at the Church in Holyhead but because 70% of the Coastal Path is suitable for the very young to very old, sections of the path can be taken at random with my favorites definately on the Western side of the Island with those views towards Snowdonia.

Unlike other well known Coastal Paths the one around Anglsea is perfect for the casual visitor using their own transport due to the fact that one is always in close proximity to habitation and a main road.
Parking facilities are so prevelant around the island that by using a car one could easily choose any section of the path and then deviate to discover what the island has to offer further inland and then rejoin the path and easily return to your vehicle.

The isle of Anglsea has so much to offer if one knows what to look for and being able to follow the coast and then deviating to visit the islands many historical monuments and then rejoining the path is a major plus in the paths favour.

This guide itself is no substitue to the relevant O/S map of the Island but it gives a very concise description of all 12 sections of the path with very interesting historical notes of popular landmarks and villages that one passes through.

You could describe it as a beautifully put together historical guide to the island describing what each area has to offer but concentrating predominantly on the coastal path and describing what one can see in and around the coast.

I have a few nicely produced coloured guides to the island but this one is certainly one of the nicest to look at and really encourages the visitor to get so much more from their visit or walk.

Why just follow the coast, granted the views and scenery are stunning but just a short walk in land at vertually any section of the path will have something very interesting for the casual visitor to visit.

Being a local resident i found following most of the path ever so straigh forward but using the official guide certainly assists the visitor new to the Island.

I feel the Anglsea Coast Path now rivals the one in Pembroke in West wales as one of the most popular open to all long distance paths and at 125miles in length its not that long which would allow the very fit walker to complete it in well under a week.

The only problem now is finding the right weather to walk the path because the views especially towards Snowdonia are so rewarding if the weather is kind but whatever the season the Anglesea Coast Path is so rewarding.
55 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Excellent companion to walking the path - plenty of detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here