Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
39
4.0 out of 5 stars
Twisted Wing
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 January 2013
This was a book suggested by our reading group so I wasn't sure what to expect. It's the best book we have read so far. Lots of twists and turns and a totally unexpected ending. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
A brilliant and cleverly written book. Not usually my style of novel but it came highly recommended. Once I started, I couldn't put it down. This book will keep you gripped throughout. An exceptional first novel. I hope it's the first of many. I certainly want to know what happens next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Totally enjoyed this book, keeps you guessing til the very end. Dec reading the second book by this author, one to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Started listening to this story but due to the flash backs the written version is much better - really great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
A classy and clever thriller - I've never read anything quite like it before. The murders are quite gruesome, but the psychological aspect of the book is gripping.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Set in Ariel College, Cambridge, the headless, mutilated body of a female undergraduate is found in the room, of Olivia Carcadden on the night of the May Ball. Beside the body is Olivia who is in a catatonic state; also present her boyfriend, Nick Hardcastle. But this is only the start of a series of violent murders.

Forensic psychiatrist Matthew Denison feels sure that the killer's identity could be locked in the mind of Olivia Carscadden, but it will take time to unlock her traumatized mind, and time is something they don't have.

The small clique of, Nick Hardcastle, Amanda Montgomery, Paula Abercrombie, Rob McNorton, soon begin to feel the pressure as people decide to leave the College and head home.

There are so many twists and turns in this book that it was mind blowing. Each time I though I had it, the story took a different direction and I had to rethink.

Intriguing delve in to the psychological. A book that you keep thinking about long after you have turned the last page.
Highly recommended.
-----
Lizzie Hayes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
OK, so initially I felt the prose was a little amateurish and the dialogue was definately in need of a sharp injection of realism but the plot was something else. A convoluted, intricate story with more twists than a snake in a maze. And as far as her portrayal of gore is concerned, in my opinion you can't have a crime novel without it, particularly when illustrating the mind of a psychopathic killer. So well done Newman for not shying away from it. As a first novel it lacked the depth and polish you will find in Val McDermid say, but Newman does have promise. Her ability to project gritty realim into her descriptions just never made it to her dialogue or characters. There were times when I wanted the killer to finish off ALL the characters they were so two-dimensional and corny. Twisted Wing is not a work of great depth but it is a superb story making it a perfect read for the beach - you will be surprised, hooked and entertained. To sum up: Great Story but Poor Writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 October 2009
A lot of serial killer stories tend to follow a similar pattern, this one strays well away from the usual route, it's very cleverly written and totally original. A serial killer lurks the University of Cambridge, three women are dead and the police are baffled. Forensic psychiatrist Matthew Denison has a traumatised patient who was found at the scene of the latest murder and is so badly shocked she cannot speak for a month. As he and the police try to determine whether she knows the killer's identity, they are led into some baffling twists and turns, and the outcome of it all is shocking and totally unpredictable.
Very very clever and cunning, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2009
Another new British crime novel, and what a book it is. I had purchased two books, this and another, and was desperate to finish Twisted Wing to get started on a blockbuster by a major name in crime writing. But try as I might to rush my way through this book, I had to read and savour every page. An absolute delight. Powerful descriptions, some weird and wonderful characters, and a plot that is nothing short of staggering. Roll on the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
Thrillers aren't usually my genre - I'm too weak stomached - but this was completely gripping. Meant to read a couple of chapters and ended up reading the whole lot in one go, staying up till 2.00 am and spending the rest of the night really quite disturbed. Very clever, very well written, accurately capturing Cambridge student life but subverting it and making you feel very unsure about all your assumptions. Top read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here