Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17

on 22 September 2014
What can I say? Received this on 22nd September at 10.00. Have just started reading this- it is a fascinating piece of Beano history, and it was very interesting to read about the editors and artists. it also shows the connections between "Sparky" and "Beezer" as well as the "Dandy". I am 53, and can remember reading both comics in the late 60's and early 70s! No PC then! I shall shortly be obtaining the "History of the Dandy"- even though the comics were rivals, they still had very close links!

Just for interest, my Dad is 78, and he remembers reading the Beano in the 40s!

I have also got "50 Golden Years" Beano/Dandy, and "More of the First 50 Years"-Beano/Dandy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2010
The History Of The Beano is one of the best books I have ever had. There is so much information in it. It is full of the stories from The Beano. It tells you about all the artists and their work. There is a section telling you when all the characters started and finished. It is a must for any Beano fan. I don't know how I got by without it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
A must for all Beano fans this is a really hefty volume, ideal for keeping on your coffee table and dipping into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2013
A wonderful book for any Beano fan. So much detail a real gem that an enthusiast would treasure. Worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2011
got it opened it took my breath away a magnificent classic of a book so many memories if the house was on fire it would be the first thing i would save truly awesome it is a massive book and a collectors masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2013
Good coverage of this comic with much detail of artists and stories - highly recommended to anyone who's bought the comics in the past
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 May 2016
To celebrate the 70th anniversary of The Beano in 2008, fans past and present were treated to this fabulous, coffee table sized book. I admit that I stopped buying the comic I once loved back in 2006 (after six years of religiously picking up a copy each Wednesday), but I couldn't resist reliving a large part of my childhood with this official history guide.

'The History of the Beano' takes it's readers right back to start on July 28th 1930, when the very first issue of 'The Beano' was published, containing every page from that historical issue, which was a healthy mix of charming comic strips, and some genuinely thrilling text stories.

Written in eight different 'parts' (each of which naturally cover the eight decades), this lavishly illustrated guide includes a wealth of original classic comic strips, never before seen artwork, biographies of all the people working behind the scenes, as well as all the major characters, which naturally include household names such as Roger the Dodger, Minnie the Minx, Biffo the Bear, The Bash Street Kids, and of course, Dennis the Menace, who even provides the book's introduction. From the comic related merchandise which first really arose back in the early 1990s, to the original fan clubs, everything 'Beano' related is in here.

Particularly interesting was to read all the behind-the-scenes information, and to discover why certain changes had to be made. I laughed at the recalling of several cheeky publicity stunts which were used from the 1980s onwards, beginning with the so-called 'disappearance' of Dennis' beloved pet dog Gnasher. The text is well-written, but never overly wordy, and the story ends in 2008 when, unlike the ultimately doomed 'Dandy', 'The Beano' was still remaining true to it's heyday routes in the 1950s, and selling respectably.

Towards the end of the book, there is a comprehensive index, and with each year there's a summery of the key events, as well as a listing of the characters that first appeared in that year, along with information about how long the strip lasted, the artist involved, and, in most cases, a brief synopsis of each. At the very end, there is a list of all the comic's artists throughout The Beano's then mammoth 70 year run. and the comics that they drew underneath their name.

Far from a book which will only delight children, 'The History of the Beano' is, in my opinion, more for the adult audience, certainly those who would consider themselves a collector or major enthusiast. I for one really enjoyed this trip down memory lane, and although I was only a nipper when I bought my first issue in 2000, I was soon enchanted so much with the funniness of the paper, that I bought every old annual I could lay my hands on, some of which dated back to the early '60s, so I was always familiar with the older characters from the decades gone by.

If you are looking for some fun nostalgia, then I highly recommend you buy a copy of 'The History of the Beano: The Story So Far', it's a thing of real beauty, and a fascinating history lesson.

See also: The Art and History of the Dandy: 75 Years of Biffs, Bangs and Banana Skins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2008
A big, sumptuous, heavy coffee table book, which treats the Beano archive with care and respect and documents the awsome talent which has gone into its creation over the past 70 years. The reproduction of numerous, full page, vintage and modern strips is crisp and clear - often taken from original artwork - and printed at a size which is suitable for ageing, nostalgic eyes. For too long Comics have been treated as trivial things; kids swopped them, teachers confiscated them and mothers gave them away to jumble sales. The material on display in this book, however, shows that the Beano, and its ilk, deserves to be re-assesed as a national treasure. It not only reflects the culture of the last 70 years, but can now be seen as having strongly influenced it. More from the vaults of D C Thomson please.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)