Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2002
This book is excellent for anyone considering moving from keeping tropical fish to keeping marine fish. Keeping marine fish is always considered tricky, due to its subtle blend of black art and science. This book covers both the science and the black art admirably and also covers the grail for fish keepers "the reef system". The book is broken down into three sections, the first covers the kit required to keep marine fish/reef systems. The second section gives a description of the marine fish themselves. Giving hints on which fish will tolerate each other and whether they will live in a reef environment without eating the reef/inverts/tank mates. The third section covers the inverts. All in all an excellent book which has definitely encouraged me to have a go at keeping marine fish.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2005
I've been researching setting up my own marine aquarium. Problem is I knew pretty much nothing about marine fishkeeping. This booked explained in a simple language what I wanted to know. The questions and answers on each page seemed to read my mind. Highly recommend this book to anyone thinking about geting a marine aquarium.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2003
This is one of the best books for a beginner I have read. It is comprehensive, full of beautiful photos and really does make the transition from fresh water to salt water easier to achieve. Excellent value,dynamic book!! Would recommend to any one interested in the hobby.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2006
What a great book, as someone interesting in setting up a marine aquarium this was very helpful as it took you through everything you need to know from setup, maintenance, hardware, diseases, quarantine to holiday planning for your fish and how to plan for moving house! In general everything you will probably need to know. Great pictures in the profiles section with each species individual requirements from tank conditions and care to feeding. The fish compatibility section is great as it lets you plan your inhabitants before going out to buy. Overall first class book. 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
If you only buy one book for marine fishkeeping this should be the one!
This book explains everything you need to know about keeping marine fish.
A good section on setting up a fish only tank & the full reef tank!

Different types of equipment are explained as is live rock, feeding, compatibility between fish & invertebrates, maintenance, algae, holiday care & a good section on the pests you are likely to come across & how to deal with them.
There is a section on the different types of fish & their suitability to aquariums, beginners & each other! There is also a good section on invertebrates & how to handle & look after them.

This book gives you the confidence to try your hand at marine fishkeeping if like me you have been thinking about it but were too scared to take the leap!! It also seemed to answer the questions that have been a puzzle in my mind!
This book also shows you that you don't need the full shebang at the beginning, it is fine to start off simply with just fish!!

I will be referring to this book often!
A must for your collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Well written book. Will help Beginners to the Experienced. The book is partitioned into 'in depth' explanations for Equipment required, Reef / Fish Only aquariums setups, Maintenance, Algae, Quarantine, Fish Families, useful Information with Question and Answers on the Family. Covers Invertebrates and Corals in the same manner as the Fish Families. All in all a worthwhile reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2008
This book has some good info on fish, corals and invertebrates including pictures for the marine aquarium. I found it pretty poor though with respect to filtration and sumps and most other equipment needed by us salties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Not the best in this category but a handy aid for the inexperienced aquarist. Many questions found their answers in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
a very good book book is like brand new very happy will buy again from this seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Excellent book.Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)