Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 24 April 2014
Difficult to imagine that the French establishment could have outlawed a sport for its honesty in paying players and turning a blind eye to the 'dark side' that payed the but denied it.

I believe the practice, though not the banning, was the reason so many older followers of the two rugby codes have issues with each other but growing up playing football I knew nothing of this.

A very good read if you are at all interested in Rugby League or the history of sport in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Before purchasing this book, I already new a little about this terrible injustice perpetrated by one code of rugby(union) against another code(league).This shameful episode has been conveniently forgotten by the union code and perhaps some in league dont realise what went on and certainly might not know about rugby union collaborating with the nazis in order to crush rugby league. A truly shameful episode,that I for one will never forget or forgive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Excellent. Tells a shameful story of a sport strangled by those afraid of fair competition. It would be interesting to see the story taken on to the revival (if that it was) in French Rugby League that saw them beating the Australians in the 1950s, and how they remained competitive until in the early 1980s. But maybe that is another book?

This books tells us why the Catalans Dragons should be everyone's (at least) second team.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
I wanted to understand what happened to the game in France and this book certainly filled in the gaps in my knowledge. It takes the reader through the hypocritical attitudes of the time and shows that the history of rugby in France is not a black and white story. Well worth a read for anyone who is interested in the oval ball game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
I'm half way through reading this incredibly informative and interesting book and am loving it so far. The delivery was fantastic and the price was a bargain. I would recommend this book for anyone that has a passing interest in sports history or international rugby league.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Never realised the depth of feeling that league vs union could lead to such an episode in French history. Only took 2 goes to read and enjoyed every part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
a great book about a shameful subject. i really wish somebody else would write a book on the same subject as one book is not enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Bought this as a present but I can't wait to read it myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
excellent book, my Dad was very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Good bit of history on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)