Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2001
I live and work in Rome and Georgina Masson's guide is the best I have read - no other guide book on Rome matches it. Written by someone who knows the city well and has lived here for a number of years, the book sets out, in chapters, a number of walks around Rome and has small, simple to use maps. The walks are not exhausting and each area is explained in considerable detail. The text is enlightened, excellently researched, entertaining and infomative. In addition, there is a comprehensive index from which you can find the appropriate piece of text for the site you are in. If you are a discerning traveller rather than an ignorant tourist you should be carrying a copy of this book on your next visit to the eternal city.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
As someone who relies heavily on travel guides.I can say that this, for me is the best I have ever read. If you are interested in the history of the city and want to know more that the locals, this is the book for you. The books format is to divide the city up into two weeks worth of walks through the different parts of the city. It is not the usual guide book and you will need to buy both this and a DK eyewitness guide or something similar if you want the full benifit.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2000
This book was my guide when I first lived in Rome and no amount of specialised information on individual topics since has surpassed its breadth, depth and feel for the city. Arranged in logical, area-based chapters rather than chronological or by particular sites, it really is a warm, essential and highly sophisticated guide to an extremely complex city.
Cannot recommend it too highly, and nor could the Signora who first recommended it to me.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 1999
This guide is truly brilliant: informative and well-written. So well is it written, that it reads like a novel.
Packed full of background anecdotes.
I can't recommend it highly enough.
Let me just add that it was recommended to me by an Italian, a guide at the Vatican, and his opinion was that it is the best guide to the city in any language.
I agree
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2000
I first used this book nearly thirty years ago, and it is still unsurpassed for the level of information it contains on whichever cultural or historical aspect of Rome the traveller is interested in.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
This is an indispensable, unique, brilliant book. I have lived in Rome three years, and I guarantee that Georgina Masson captures the hidden powerful essence of the Eternal city like no one else: she succeeds in putting on paper the soul of Rome, which cannot but delight people who have been living in the City for long like me.Still, for this very reason, I would not recommend the book to tourists. This is not a Kleenex-book, this is not a book to spot out the best restaurant, to find out at what time the latest art exhibition opens,or to make the best of a 7-day-tour in Italy. This book is written for the ones who have time, who want to taste, not just to bite and go. This is why I like the book:this is The book for the ones who are in tune with the soul of Rome, which, in a nutshell, is filled with "Pazienza" (patience). Enjoy the book, I wish you all a happy strolling in Rome.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
I used this book for a four day visit to Rome. It is excellent. It does not have photos, the plans are small and it is quite dense. However, its virtues far outweigh any deficiencies. It fits snugly into one's pocket and has a wealth of interesting and useful information. One can turn any street corner in Rome and see something one wants to know about; and nine times out of ten, this guide book has it there with all the relevant facts and anecdotes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2002
I was extremely disappointed in this book. Although undoubtedly a great literary work, it is necessary to appreciate the difficulty that an average tourist (like myself) would have in using the book. With massive amounts of inordinately detailed text on every entry, with no sub-headings or pointers for the wandering visitor, this book would be much more appropriate as an audio guide. It is next to impossible to fully appreciate your surroundings whilst reading the book as it is necessary to constantly refer to the text in order to maintain your bearings during the walks.
The lack of pictures is appreciated since it gives the opportunity to really see things for the first time (so rare these days) however this does not compensate with the difficulty of keeping track with where you are.
Be aware that you are buying a history book, rather than a travel guide and be prepared to work hard in order to derive the full value of this hefty tome.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)