Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21


on 7 June 2012
bought for my father's birthday and he absolutely loves it! My mother not so much - she cannot get him to do anything because he is too busy reading! Mind you, the rest of the family are also suffering as he keeps telling us tales from it! He reckons it is one of the best F1 history books he has read. I can recommend it to anyone who needs a present for someone who likes F1 (especially if they are of more mature years!)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
I had been looking forward to reading this genuine autobiography by a great driver. And I thoroughly enjoyed the honesty and clarity that shone through both in relation to his racing career, his lovely wife and family and his subsequent approach to his car sales and service business. His method of making contemporaneous notes of his races and in particular his lap times in comparison with others has given him the raw material (often missing in the histories of other great drivers) to clearly reflect on his career and how he rated against others. Whilst being a quiet, studious person with other interests he was a seriously quick tenacious driver who was not outshone by any of his illustrious team mates and - the record shows - was one of the top handful of drivers of the 1950's. He would still have been in the early 60's but came to the decision to retire when still young. It was a pleasure to read as it is well written and clearly describes the very different and much more dangerous times he raced in. A significant book for fans of Grand Prix history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
I was at Aintree in 1957 with my family and the joy of seeing a Vanwall win was unforgettable. We knew Tony was carrying an injury and have always wondered if he could have won the race on his own, I remember Hawthorne coming slowly into the pits, minus his crash helmet to retire and Behra's car blowing it's clutch up. Archie Scott Brown raced his Lister at this meeting as I recall. Very enjoyable book with a slight overuse of the expression, 'poetry in motion' the only minor irritant but then I'm an old cumudgeon!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2013
A great driver but a modest man who comes across as one who appears dissapointed that his racing achievements have not been widely recognised. An honest and readable autobiography of a nice man, a qualification that cannot always be attributed to a racing driver. A motor racing enthusiast's choice of reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2012
Tony Brooks was one of our greatest drivers whose driving skills were close to those of Fangio and Moss. I saw him driving the Vanwall which was not any easy car and his car control was amazing. In recent years, I was privileged to meet him and I found him to be a perfect gentleman. His autobiography says it all, a dedicated driver and most of all, a family man.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2017
a very interesting book but for the professionals who may like more technical details it is slightly lacking. Some extremely good photographs especially of the Dino 246.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2014
Motorsport Fans ..this is a must Buy Tony Brooks writes it himself ..a Great Read & with Fantastic Photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
Brought back such fantastic memories - well written. A racing driver that never really got the full star treatment! And again will be a true classic collectors book in the future!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2012
A well written account of motor racing in the 50s and 60s. It tells it as it was in a modest and amusing way with a number of facts not generally known. I would recommend this to anyone interested in motor sport of that era.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2012
Lovely book, looking forward to enjoying it over time not a book to read and just move on it's one to return to as you remember bits and stories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)