Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 20 July 2009
This is an all-out rant, drawing upon the almost inexhaustible catalogue of stupidity which comprises Gordon Brown's record in office. There is enough here to keep the average saloon bar bore busy for as long as it takes to clear up the mess created by an outstandingly silly man - which could be quite some time.

The author's tale (penned in 2007) has to a limited extent been overtaken by events, these having evolved even more swiftly than he envisaged. That, though, only confirms his judgment about how crass and damaging has been the behaviour of his deeply unpleasant subject.

Where I am disappointed is that the book gives no insight into the nature and origins of the moronic character propounded. It is relatively straightforward to list examples of egregiously silly actions; and one cannot fault the diligence with which Dr Coleman has compiled these. But it is then virtually a tautology to dismiss the perpetrator as a moron, which the author does in a single sentence by reference to the OED definition. It would be more interesting to have an opinion about where on the spectrum of outlandish character flaws he would place his twerp.

Gordon is reported to be, in certain respects, exceedingly bright; notwithstanding that he has all the presence of an automaton such as a speak-your-weight machine. Do his evident obsessive belief in his own cleverness, his contempt for the intelligence of others, his total lack of judgment or of capacity to perceive consequences, make him a moron? Is that simplistic? Does he, rather, verge toward autism: capable of brilliant isolated feats without context, and therefore best kept away from any position where he might screw up? A chapter on the author's medical insights into the aetiology of his subject's condition would have added immeasurably to this work.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2010
Vernon Coleman has done a public service by writing this, but will we listen?

I recently finished this book and it does what it says on the label-makes you angry and frustrated. Just to take ne exmple, not the costliest but the most obviously stupid and wicked even at the time-Gordon sold off our gold reserves at the bottom of the market and we have nothing to show for it. Why? I am moved to suggest it might have been done out of sheer anti-English spite, or just becuse he could and it felt good to exercise power. Certainly there is no rational explanation. In China, anyone guilty of this level of economic incompetence, indeed betrayal of national treasure would not just have been sacked, but executed.

The take home message is not so much that Gordon the psychopathic, immumerate, controlling, foul tempered communist moron has damaged our economy and much else in a way that will take our children a generation to repair, BUT that all the facts about what was being done were in the public realm AT THE TIME and still it went on. Why wasn't he stopped? How COULD we have let him get away with his pension theft, he certainly out did that other Labour (ex) politician Robert Maxwell when it came to dipping his fingers into other peoples' retirement savings to fund his grandiose schemes.

We need to put in some kind of triple lock to prevent anything like this ever happening again. However, with every benefit claimant and government dependant (Brown increased both more than any of his predecessors) having a vote, and apparently fully determined to fall for immoral nonsense like the communist dog-whistle slogans 'tax the rich' and 'pay off the debt on the proceeds of growth' , it seems likely we will learn nothing and repeat the same mistakes again. It will serve us right.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2010
Coleman wrote this book in 2007 just as Gordon Brown left HM Treasury to become the unelected Prime Minister of Britain. The 'credit crunch' hadn't happened at the time of writing yet Coleman was already providing copious amounts of evidence that Gordon Brown was destroying the British economy and was accusing him of being the man who "has ruined our nation".

This book is a fairly short, but thoroughly comprehensive, compendium of Gordon Brown's ruinous economic and social policies and he scores twenty-two direct hits on Brown in twenty-two, fact-packed, riveting chapters. Coleman's criticisms of Brown's crude attempts at Stalinist social engineering, Viv Nicholson style economics and left-wing fascism give the reader a glimpse of how future history books are likely to record the era of Gordon Brown.

Plenty of simple, thought provoking arguments are laid out here for anyone - no matter what your political persuasion - and it's an easy read laid out across just 150-odd pages. Learn how Brown fiddled the inflation figures so he could falsely claim Britain had low inflation - a claim which allowed him to stoke up the biggest debt-fuelled bubble in British history. How Brown's box-ticking target culture has destroyed the public services. His deliberate expansion of state dependency as a means to an end. The precipitous decline of manufacturing under his stewardship and how New Labour's indulgent, kid glove treatment of globalised big business and big money was in sharp contrast to their treatment of Britain's small business sector which they have strangled to death with Soviet levels of red tape, regulations and bureaucracy. Over taxation, under investment, public and personal over indebtedness and tens of billions of pounds of central and local government waste. Bearing in mind what was to happen within months of Coleman finishing this book, Chapter 6 "The Imprudent Chancellor and the Worst Budget Deficit in Western Europe" makes some spookily prescient points.

Sadly, what makes this book essential reading for anyone who wants to know how the country got into its present mess and what makes Coleman's case so difficult to dispute, is that many of the things he predicts will happen actually did happen and within just months of the book being published. If you take into account Brown's time as Prime Minister his legacy becomes even worse than it was at the time Coleman wrote this book. Under Brown's Labour government we have seen the national debt double [and forecast to double again to £1.4 trillion by 2014/15], the budget deficit go through the roof [to the point where the government is now borrowing one pound of every four pounds it spends] and Brown personally engineering what must be the largest transfer of wealth from poor to rich in British history when he bailed out the banks. Thirteen years of Brownonomics has also saddled Britain with the widest gap between rich and poor since the Second World War. As Coleman says of the New Labour government..."If they had deliberately set out to destroy the country they could not have made a better job of things".
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2010
Like Zubedsky, I am reviewing this book when I'm only part way through it. I'm not inclined to read any more.

I am not a Labour supporter. I didn't vote for them last week! However,I am offended by the silly tone of this man's wriing (e.g. 'In politics the oily dross rises like scum on a stagnant pond.').
How on earth it can claim to be an objective analysis when there is so much personal bias and emotion in the volume.

Unlike Andrew Rawnsley, He does not give any references for the 'facts' he gives. Some of it is utter nonsense that might find a ready audience in bigots.

The back cover claims that he has written over 100 books - shades of Barbara Cartland! Still, any piece of paper is useful in an emergency.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2008
If you want to know the damage that the Moron has done to the economy of Britain, this is the book you should read. A page turner filled with factually backed accusations. The effect of Gordon Brown's actions on the finances of his country, its institutions and its Constitution are all examined and picked apart. There is little here for your comfort but much for your ammunition pouch. No wonder this book is being sold at a premium - £25 per copy as opposed to the publisher's price £9.95 each and £25 for 10! Only towards the end of the book does the momentum fall off: the writer tires of his subject, and with such a subject, this should surprise no one.
22 Comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2010
Oh, that there weren't more people who had the passion that Vernon Coleman showed when writing this book. He leaves Gordon Brown without a name (rightly so, in my opinion).
Vern meticulously and systematically demolishes the New Labour mantra/lie that Gordon Brown was the best Chancellor that we've had in recent memory.
From the bleeding of the masses for taxes to the bloating of the civil service paid for by those taxes (to enlist and keep loyal New Labour voters), to the selling off of half of the UK's gold reserve at rock bottom prices (and pre-announcing this, thereby depressing prices beforehand), to the shocking injustice of means testing, and much more; the list goes on. A must read.
My only criticism is that the sources used for the book aren't referenced and so at times it seems like a rant (but with good reason).
However, this book also inadvertently shows Tony (the liar) Blair's recent assertion that he kept Gordon Brown as Chancellor, as he thought that Gordon would do more damage as a backbencher, as laughable. Brown couldn't have done more damage to the UK if he tried. What was clear to me about Brown from this book was that he was a dyed-in-the-wool socialist, tax and spend and damn the consequences. On the grounds of this book Brown should be tried for Treason. He makes the bankers seem like choirboys.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2009
It amazed me for several years that Brown had a reputation for competence as a Chancellor (as PM his true abilities have shone like a beacon!). Certainly a very selfish, spineless, arrogant, inhuman, kleptomaniacal "statist" bully who in my opinion has NEVER done the right thing for his country, only what is politically expedient to promote himself. eg selling our gold reserves at the lowest possible price, so he appeared to be a good European. Sackable offence. One of many that an incompetent opposition and the press let him get away with.

You will correctly guess that with this background opinion that I enjoyed the book. There were more revelations of incompetence on a grand scale throughout, and the book is an easy read. Great. The implications for the UK though are, frankly, scary.

However, the book does state it is definitive and objective. Hmmm. Think instead that its a bit of a welcome rant. If you like in-depth intellectual analysis you will be disappointed. It is also lacking in supportive, investigative facts. This may though have made the book dull and a lot less appealing.

Nevertheless, anything that reveals to a wider audience what a mess we are in, and why, is welcome. Finding solutions is another matter. As an easy read it is ideal as an overview, and it gave me a lot more incidences & detail than I was previously aware of. It should in fact be used by opposition parties to formulate their battle plans. Why ANYONE in the Norwich by-election last week voted for Labour is beyond me, so I believe the book deserves to be compulsory reading for the electorate before they are allowed to vote!

In short, an enjoyable (but ultimately depressing for any responsible member of the tax-paying community)read if you dislike the target, Brown, and a good outline of some major issues that politicians will need to urgently resolve before the country is financially bankrupt.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2009
Good but quite slim book, although to call it objective is probably stretching the truth a bit- Vernon Coleman has an obvious dislike for "Gordon the Moron"- but hey, who can blame Dr Coleman for that?
What this book does do is explain in rather simple but thorough detail the alleged incompetence of the labour government and Gordon Brown in particular. It is particularly strong on Brown's social engineering policies and his building of the gold plated pension backed army of civil servants- Dr Coleman states many of these civil servants also vote labour.
Also Dr Coleman attacks what he sees as Brown's pro Scottish policies, highlighting how Gordon's compatriots enjoy free prescriptions, free old age care, and if they want to send their kids to English universities that is free too- also paid for by the taxpayer.
The book will depress you in that it highlights how we simply cannot afford Gordon Brown's extravagant spending policies and social benefits regime, and how the country is basically bust.
Vernon Coleman is no fool- highlighted by the fact that this book was published in 2007 (written 2006?) and it is amazing how so many of the things he predicted would happen have come true. Credit crunch anyone?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2009
I am only 50 pages into this book, but am moved to post a review before I finish.

Whilst I have a huge amount of sympathy for the general thrust of this book and the various examples cited are compelling evidence of Gordon Brown's hugely defective character and his megalomaniacal tendency, this is very poorly written.

It is a disconnected collection of thoughts, some of which might have made for interesting articles, but collectively seem to add up to a disorganised rant. It is hardly definitive and certainly not objective.

I wonder whether the author has ever paused to consider that a more thoughtful, balanced book may have delivered a more persuasive case - it may also then have been more readable to those other than the converted. Given the author lays claim to having written over a 100 books, I suspect not! Quality Vernon, not quantity.

PS Invest in a decent proof reader too!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2009
I have read and re-read the review of M Woodman and still cannot understand the point being made by him/her or whether he is actually criticising the premise of the book.

As far as I can tell from a long memory of British politics, Mr [Dr] Coleman has hit every nail on the head of the disaster known as Gordon Brown.

I have had to read the book in short bursts because the truth of what the author states is so clear makes me feel very angry and powerless [don't mention the general election]. Much as Margaret Thatcher was hated by the left nobody could have ever written an analysis of her tenure in such stark terms.

I hope that the books author sent several editions to No.10 in the hope that Mr Brown would sue.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)