Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2000
Paramananda's book is so special because it is suitable for complete beginners to meditation, but it remains an inspiration to me after 8 years of meditating. He manages to blend simple description of technique (which is soon remembered) with subtle pointers and indications which are so easily forgotten as one ploughs on with a meditation practice. I know many people who have read this book, and don't know of a single one who has been disappointed.
11 Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Very clear and practical guide. A good overview of Buddhist values is given but it is not intimidating or aimed only at people who want to become Buddhists. Very good writing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Great introduction to meditation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2008
This book is elegantly and beautifully written. I don't remember ever enjoying reading a book so much. There is a depth and intimacy to Paramananda's writing which will carry over into your meditation practice. Many writers compose meditation guides in a dry, predictable, boring style that, after a few chapters, can make me yawn and feel tired with the practice before I've even tried it! I will want to keep this book for a lifetime. This book brings the process of meditation well and truly alive and has been hugely inspirational for me. If I were to be reborn and wanted just one book from my past life to guide me it would be this one.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2006
I think this is a great meditation book, for beginners and others. Its style is very emotive, almost poetic at times; this contrasts favourably with the dry, utilitarian attitude of other meditation books I've reviewed.

Far from making it subjective, Paramananda's way of writing is very inspiring, and one feels welcomed into the world of meditation. He manages to emphasise open-mindedness and kindness to oneself rather than a narrow, results-driven approach.

Meditation experiences are really impossible, ultimately, to describe in words, but Paramananda manages to give the reader a feel for what it's all about that should be sufficient to take one's practice a considerable way.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Straightforward, clear, lucid and very very informative. If you want a list of many different meditations to do, go elsewhere. If you want to learn how to start becoming a good mediatator and find out what meditation can do for you, buy this.

I've tried to get into various forms of meditation for about two years but have found the various books I've purchased to be largely unhelpful. If you don't knoww after reading this book why you should meditate and how you can start; give up, it's not for you. I am very, very pleased to have found this book, may it all go on from here.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This, and Mathieu Ricard's "The art happiness" are the best introductions to Buddhist meditation I have read. This book is full of both practical and theoretical material that can form the basis of a sound meditation practice. The author is a lover of poetry; this is reflected in his beautiful writing style. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This is a straightforward and practical book that gives you what you need to unclutter your mind and respond to life in a more measured and enlightened way. The fact that it is written so clearly and is not too long means that you can quickly start using the meditations suggested. I have meditated for years using the breath, which is one of the suggestions, and can attest that it is a wonderful way to clear the mind. But the meditation that radiates love out into the world is much more challenging. It is worth persevering with this if we want the world to be a happier and more sensible place to live, which it's not at present. A great book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2001
This book is so simple, and so elegant. It introduces the basic principles of meditation in such a clear manner, but I also found it interesting, uplifting and enjoyable to read. Even if you are not really interested in either buddhism or meditation, this book is far more useful than 90% of those cloying "self-help" manuals.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)