Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 10 June 2016
Main resource during TEFL coursework and teaching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2002
Teachers are always trying to encourage students to organize their vocabulary more logically. This book does it for them - 100 units organized around the topics that students need to be able to talk about from the typical old favourites (food, leisure time etc to the less frequently exploited (religion, social issues and an ecellent unit on football). Each unit starts by checking the basic vocabulary that students need to talk about the topic area and then introduces more challenging lexis. The exercises themselves are varied - gap-fill, matching and categorizing are all made use of and much of the language is at phrase level so students never feel they are simply learning lists of words. At the end of every unit there is a box where students can add their own words and phrases.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
This book teaches over 5000 new words and expressions with over 650 vocabulary exercises. Fully illustrated and full answer key. I also recommend Intermediate Vocabulary by B J Thomas. And Target Vocabulary 1-2-3 by Peter Watcyn Jones. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
An extremely useful addition to the EFL classroom. The book is organised topic by topic and can be used to back up a lesson. Also very useful for students enabling them to take control in organising their vocabulary subject by subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Purchased 2 copies for my wife & my friends wife who are both English is not their mother tongue language...
Really very valuable vocabulary book..
Recommended for those wishing to enhance their English vocabulary...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This book categorizes many advanced vocabulary words into contexts and it is very useful in improving one's vocab knowledge. If only the students could get through the whole book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
My teacher recommended this book and it has lots of words which is very authentic.
The problem is just my brain. Can I remeber all of these words?????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
You do not feel like you are learning as much as enjoying the way the new words have been explained in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
one of the best vocabulary books I have every used. this one bought for a student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
the product conforms to the description, I recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse