Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
56
4.5 out of 5 stars
Composting with Worms: Why Waste Your Waste
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 March 2017
Very useful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
Whilst you have to dig around the net for good worm guide-n-guru's (of which the author also appears & is both highly regarded AND contactable within the uk) ..the internet can be a major distraction when you actually wish to do more than simply browsing.
Which is why I purchased this excellent book, it fills the gaps of knowledge that can make or break a wormery, save you time with explanations of the micro-climate that is a developing wormery & when to hold your horses as to assumed mistakes on the worried owners part.
Without this book I would be a rubbish worm-keeper & recycler, with it i've gained great knowledge & kept my worms alive, recycled successfully, bred loads of babies (well they're captive in the wormery & breed) ...so many mistakes avoided thanks to this book.
replacing your worms should you go horribly wrong is expensive, this book is cheap, you can dip into it & keep it as a point of reference & then leave the worms to do what they do best, ..recycle.
Ace book that settles the nerves of the beginner.
wormeries ought to come with it as standard, it's short but concise & covers pretty much everything!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
It does! That is, composting in a wormery especially if you read this book. I did when I first started my wormery and everything has gone very smoothly and even through this cold winter my wormery is outside and the worms are still alive. The book explains all about why to compost in a wormery, what sort of worms you should have, what you should expect the bin to look like inside if all is going well and what to look out for if it is not, what to do and when, what sort of worm bin to get and what to do with the worm compost.
An excellent book for those who want to know how worms compost and particularly for those who want to set up their own worm bin.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2007
Ah - at last a book written for the UK Worm Virgin. George Pilkington asks the question, "Why Waste Your Waste?". It is a very good question. With UK local Councils sliding irrecoverably down the slippery slope which leads to us all being charged extra, by weight, for our 'non-recyclable' waste, using some method to deal with our veggie-waste (and quite a bit besides) starts to make, not only good financial sense, but is also good 'green' sense.

George sets out to introduce you to the way-of-the-worm by, firstly, introducing us to the worm-composting principles and the biology of composting, then he gets us to shake hands with our new friends, the worms (lots of worms!) and gently, step-by-step, he takes us through the whole process of buying, setting up, using and maintaining a wormery.

Trust me, it is fascinating stuff. Did you know that apart from the obvious veggy-waste, your worms love cardboard, biscuits, cereals, cakes, chocolate, eggshells, nail-clippings, newspapers, and, well....the list is almost endless. Busy little creatures these worms!

There is a whole section on commercially available wormeries, including George's own design, the 'Waste Buster' which, as far as wormeries go, is the Hilton Hotel of wormeries, only cheaper! After a chapter on using worm compost, there is a very useful Frequently Asked Question section and the book winds up with a chapter exploring the wider role of worms in the whole global community. Sounds heavy, but it isn't.

'Composing with Worms' is a very readable, profoundly knowledgeable and thoroughly enjoyable book written by an expert, described on his web-site as, 'The Original Worm-Man' . All he needs is some sort of super-hero costume perhaps!

If you, in any way, want to do something really practical in the way of recycling, rather than pontificating about carbon footprints and Polar Bears, then buy this book and get composting!
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2007
Worm Composting is a great thing to do but i had always ended up with a horrid slimy mess until i bought Mr Pilkingtons book. Easy instructions on how to get lovely usable worm compost, how to build a worm bin and other useful information - great stuff. I have read them all and this is by far the best.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2006
Excellent resource for getting started at vermicomposting, very similar to Mary's "worms eat my garbage" but from a uk perspective.
Informs you of everything you need to start/maintain and even build a worm system, as well as telling you more about the little wigglers themselves
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
An excellent well put together book for anyone interested in composting. Although obviously well researched and academically robust, it breaks the subject down into short sections that would be easily digestible by anyone :-) no matter what their prior knowledge of the subject. I would heartily recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
Excellent little book. Contains everything that I have been searching for, when it comes to worm farming.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 June 2013
This is a good, straightforward and light hearted guide to starting your own wormery.

While a certain amount of keeping your worms happy has to be instinct, trial and error, I've found this book very
helpful on the dos and don'ts and a certain amount of troubleshooting. Warnings of common pitfalls were also welcome
-for example - most people make their wormery too wet and overload it with food when they start.

Easy to understand and well worth getting if you are going in for vermicomposting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)