Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2003
This book is a handy one to have if you're a reasonably well experienced surfer but do not buy this if you are a beginner, many of the spots listed are sketchy at best and should only be attempted by more experienced surfers. On the other hand, if you know what youre doing this book gives you a chance to find less crowded waves. Particularly if you surf in North Wales. It lists many more spots than the Stormrider guide however these tend to be the spots that rarely work. Im not sure if the rumor is true or not but i have been told that the author got a few beatings for giving away what were once secret spots (if there is such a thing).
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2001
This book should piss off a few locals , as it gives great detail about known spots and indicates 'secret spots.' A must for anyone without a surf break outside their door or anyone who wants to explore
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2000
This book shows where to surf and the surf shops to go to, I recommend this book to any surfer, Begginer or Pro.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Bought this book to give me info on different parts of uk, naturally read about my local area, whereas most breaks are named, it is not accurate with the details of many of the breaks, I am assuming this is the case in other areas, so would use just as a rough guide. Don't like mentioning secret spots, author sits on the fence, either blow it and give details or, even better say nothing, seems like"I know something you don't know".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2003
Comprehensive but workmanlike guide to UK breaks. Well written, with a typically laid back style. However it probably suffers a little for the sake of completeness, containing directions and the like to breaks which hardly ever go off, and when they do are described as weak and dribbly! The design and layout of the book are okay but aren't in the same league as the Stormrider guides. Very few colour photos etc. so not a book to leave on the coffee table and flick through. Also some of the map grid references are extremely dodgy!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2002
I am a little bit hesitant about recommending this book as I want to keep all the information to myself. The author has listed all the top surf spots in an easy to follow format which encourages you to get your suit on and and hit the water. This book is to surfing what the Bible is to religion. Everyone who calls themself a surfer should own a copy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
A classic surf guide - talks to you like you're a regular British surfer used to cold waves and onshore winds - but also lets you know where to score the UK at its best. The best guide in my opinion
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
Got the book yesterday- and we've already planned the next March surf...

Great price, good pics and looking forward to catching some nice waves in hidden locations, without body boarders, surf schools and chavs (Newquay, Cornwall) getting in your way. Really enjoying this book! Four friends already asked to borrow it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
5 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
The design is dated, the info poor, whilst the cover looks good the content is lacking and the maps are terrible. Not really the travel guide it promises, vague instructions to accommodation. There are much better books on the market.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)