Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2013
As an expat I bought 10 of these to give as part of a 'Scottish' basket I had made up myself for my colleagues as a present. I looked for a recipe book that was cheap and cheerful and was very pleased with the result and the recipes are quite traditional. I was pleasantly surprised to find illustrations around the recipes which made the booklet more attractive. Good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I had this book a while ago and found the traditional simple recipes easy to follow.
I bought a copy for friends in America who love the idea of Recipes from Scotland
Good Book ....Good Value ....Fun Cooking
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Purchased as a stocking filler for my Wife. A great little recipe book with lots of "lets do" recipes that we can both enjoy preparing, cooking, and Family eating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Another great old fashion Scottish recipe book
Have recommended it and they are easy to fallow and taste great when made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
My mum loved this recipe book! Reminded her of her childhood & she can't wait to make some of the recipes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
...is featured in this book of the 'Salmon Favourite Recipe' series.
(Covers may vary).

~ 'Keep gude company and ye'll be counted one o' them' - Scottish proverb.

'Cooking has always played an important part in the life of Johanna Mathie's large Scottish family and recipes have been handed down over the generations. Her grandmother who was brought up in Caithness, married a Wigtownshire farmer and the family were keen members of the local Scottish Women's Institution. This book contains a collection of the best in traditional Scottish fare.'

Paperback format with 48 quality pages, covering 34 recipes.

This charming little book opens with an alphabetical list of the recipes contained within.
Each recipe opens with the title, the list of ingredients plus the method.
Metric Conversion tables are given on the last page before a complete list of the titles in the Salmon series on the inside back cover.

Interspersed with sepia-coloured illustrations, my particular favourite being of 'A Highland Croft', on page 20, alongside a hearty recipe for that OLD FAVOURITE, one either loves or hates - 'Porridge'!

Other recipes include:

* Black Bun
* Butterscotch Meringue Pie
* Clootie Dumpling
* Cranachan
* Creamy Finnan Haddie
* Cullen Skink
* Forfar Bridies
* Howtowdie
* Mutton Pies
* Oatmeal Bannock
* Parlies
* Partan Bree
* Scotch Broth
* Shortbread
* Stovies
* Whisky and Chocolate Crunch
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 April 2014
This is a very small cookbook. For the money it is very worthwhile. It has a few old Scottish recopies and is a small book. The format is simple and there are a few nice pictures of Scotland etc, l have only given it three stars because of its size. However it is well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
Compiled by Johanna Mathie, this fantastic booklet contains 34 recipes of "Traditional Caledonian Fare".

Simple, straight-forward, no nonsence recipes - just like cooking & baking should be! 48 pages in total, interspersed with delightful sepia shots of the area.

In alphabetical order, the actual recipes are:-

Aunt Mary's Plum Pudding
Auntie Ellen's Winter Warmer
Black Bun
Butterscotch Meringue Pie
Clootie Dumpling
Cocky Leekie Soup
Collops Of Beef
Cranachan
Creamy Finnan Haddie
Cullen Skink
Forfar Bridies
Green Tomato & Apple Chutney
Hard Sauce
Howtowdie
Mutton Pies
Oatmeal Bannock
Oaty Crumbles
Oaty Vegetable Soup
Poached Salmon With Green Mayonnaise
Parlies
Partan Bree
Porridge
Queen Mary's Tart
Roast Grouse
Rowan Jelly
Scotch Broth
Scotch Egg
Scotch Woodcock
Shortbread
Skirlie Stuffed Chicken
Stovies
Sweet Mutton Hot Pot
Treacle & Marmalade Tart
Whisky & Chocolate Crunch

An excellent series of booklets, the contents of which always seem very personal. As there's so many titles in this range, you may find some recipes in other titles. Though don't let that put you off buying any of them - they're great value for money!

"Keep gude company and ye'll be counted one o'them".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
This is a handy little recipe book.

It's small and it has some great traditional Scottish recipes in there.

I've been beggin' ma maw(mum) to pick one of them and cook it for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
bought these for a conference i was organising for export customers for their goody bags and they loved the whole scottish theme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)