Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2014
This slender tome contains a wealth of excellent information. It beautifully avoids all of the pitfalls of the more "New Age" "organic" (ie, made-up) approaches, as well as the more convoluted, ponderous and sanctimonious interpretations of "occult" runic publications. The book contains many examples of runic text & carving with balanced and well-educated explanations for their purpose and meaning, including their historical and cultural contexts.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
The book is quite short and to the point, being based on a talk on the subject of runes. It will appeal mainly to the Anglo-Saxon scholar rather than Saxon pagans or people interested in magical aspects of runes.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
Concise and to the point, this is a good starter book for those interested in the futhark. Although it doesn't purport to deal solely with divination, it is a handy reference. I have studied the Futhark (on and off) for 30 years but still found this interesting especially as it clears away all the rubbish written by modern writers like Ralph Blum. This book takes the Futhark and resets it firmly where it once was bringing a new dimension to divination. Stephen Pollington is a good and authoritive writer, his other works are well worth checking out.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
A great book from one of the defining authorities on English runes and culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Really comprehensive. I highly reccomend it. Perfect for anyone studying runes or just interested in them and Nordic mythology. Very concise which is a plus :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Brilliant book. Just what I needed. A clear and concise acount of the runes, thankfully without a headdive into wild speculation or modern mysticism. A really great book. I can't recommend it highly enough
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Recommended to me by a friend, really pleased I purchased it as very interesting and informative read. Still getting head round pronoucing words
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Another great book by Stephen Pollington, any students of rune work, it should be on your bookshelf, I really recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
It wasn't what I expected, namely, a simple set of interpretations to expand on my current rune knowledge.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse