Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 22 February 2008
Having both a hybrid and a road bike i needed a book for general maintenance that would cover the essentials for both types. This book does that. It covers the steps for various brakes, wheels and gear adjustment as well as other stuff like a bottom bracket and even adjusting a seat post.

What you can't see on the internet is the size of this book - it's only about 12cm tall and so is a real pocket size which could be easily fitted in a pannier if you tour or commute.

The pages of the book which i was particuarly looking for were the maintenance schedules - weekly, monthly and yearly. Each shows what you should do in simple steps to keep your bike running well.

Highly recommended, particularly for beginners
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2017
Great book, full of useful and helpful information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2013
I don't remember asking for this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2013
This book is probably ok for someone who already has some skill at bicycle repair. I couldn't understand even the simplest instructions as I do not know the terms, and they were not sufficeintly indexed to cross-reference.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2009
This is a good, hand-holding guide which will encourage me to do more hands-on work on my bikes. The sections on wheel truing alone are well worth reading.

The author has taken trouble to write in a way which is helpful for non-Usonian mechanics too -- he clearly has wide experience with European bikes and parts.

I'd have liked more exploded diagrams of complex parts, but I appreciate the cost of good-quality technical illustration is too high for this price range.

Minor irritation: The author constantly refers to the rear-wheel's sprockets as "cogs", which is mechanically inaccurate. Cogs mesh with other cogs; sprockets work with a chain.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2011
Nice, simple, well illustrated no nonsense little book to give you a bit more confidence in dealing with problems and looking after your bike....just what I was looking for! Now... to get that bike out from the back of the garage....... !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2010
This book is good for basic repairs but tells you to go to expert for more complicated repairs - we hoped it would cover these. (but title does say simple repairs so it does what it says)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2012
This is a quite small book, but contains a lot of useful information. The exposition is compact, but thought-out and contains all the essential points, so you do not have to waste your time to get the idea. It is like a pocket syllabus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
Bought this book without really checking out the size so was a bit surprised when it arrived and was pocket size however this has proved to be a stroke of luck and has been very useful would recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2010
I bought this for my wife to have with her on her mad trips, and it fits the bill perfectly. Small and light enough to carry with you, but seems to cover all the bases.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)