Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2017
When physicists insist on writing nonsense, it is helpful to get it from the horse's mouth, so to speak. With relativity we have to get our heads around the idea that no matter how fast we are moving, we will always measure the speed of light relative to ourselves as exactly the same. This defies the common sense of our daily experience. But, using everyday language and practically no mathematics, Einstein leads us to accept this experimentally confirmed truth in the only way it can be accepted: that our time and our space lengthen or shorten such that the light around us travels at 300,000 of our km per one of our seconds. OK. I'm sure he's right. But, he does another thing in this book which I found most valuable, and that is that he firmly ties the discussion of relativity to empirical reality, so that in the end we might accept relativity with no more fuss than we accept a 30 cm rule for measuring distances and drawing straight lines. One returns to the undergraduate texts much strengthened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Mr Einstein (I deliberately call him Mr, I know he was called Professor), you must be joking (you may have also uttered the words, "things should be made simple but not simpler").
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
A must for anyone with any knowledge or understanding of physics and the world around them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
A great book about Einstein and how his mind ticked and also how is private life had quite a few problems. When it came to explaining E=mc2 etc, it was done in a manner that most people I think would be able to grasp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Good to hear directly from the master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Bit hard going for me but some really interesting stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I know I should probably do more research into a product before buying it, but given the low entry price I didn't think twice about buying Einstein's Relativity for £3. DON'T buy this crap, seriously, it's been dreadfully edited by OCR (w/e the hell that is), making it unreadable. The first few chapters may lull you into a false sense of security, sure, there might be a missing diagram or two, but initially that doesn't detract too much from the book. Once the mathematics kicks-in though, you have literally no chance of comprehending any of the equations, they've virtually all been misprinted because apparently the Optical Character Recognition software used to create this book doesn't understand √ signs or anything of that nature.

It might not matter for Orwell's 1984 or for Swift's Gulliver's Travels, but for Einstein's Relativity, typos do matter, and I urge whoever makes these dirt cheap books to take Relativity off of their publications list because it is simply unreadable.

"We have recreated this book from the original using Optical Character Recognition software to keep the cost of the book as low as possible. Therefore, could you please forgive spelling mistakes, missing or extraneous characters that may have resulted from smudged or torn pages?"

No, the number of printing mistakes is unforgivable, it's like the person who was tasked with typing it up used a broken keyboard with half of the keys missing. DO NOT buy the dirt cheap copy of this book, it's littered with mistakes, and virtually all of the mathematics is botched. The publishers should either sack their editor or be shut down for unethical practice, because there's no way this book ever have reached (virtual) book shelves.
22 Comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Prior to purchasing this book, one might notice some reviewers pointing out certain editions with poor translations and missing diagrams. The following edition is a good translation with the diagrams included:

ISBN 978-1-891396-30-4

The book walks the reader through the development of the special and general theories of relativity and the supporting theories they were built upon. Starting with the special theory and its limited applicability and the later development of the more universal general theory, aimed at covering the deficiencies of the former.

The first chapters of the book on the general theory of relativity are easy to approach even for those with no background in physics, featuring only little math and easy to relate to examples. More math and complexity comes in the later stages of the book introducing the general theory of relativity and may be hard to grasp even with a basic background in physics.

Noticeably the book is a translation and the original language is not English, however its still readable. Its not light reading so be prepared to sit and think in order to really digest and understand the principles. Overall a good basic insight to one of the greatest achievements in physics, which could perhaps benefit from a few extra diagrams for those with a limited background.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Beautiful book as described very prompt delivery thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)