Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 4 January 2002
A book which tells you, very good humourdly and very straight about the Dutch Culture and its people. As a Dutch national living in the UK for twenty years I read the book with mixed feelings ( Iam not like that! I don't do that!) But is has been a joy to read .It has certainly been interesting how people see us gloggies. If you are dutch and live abroad this is the book to give to your friends ( after you have read it yourself). It will show that through all the funny little quirks and mannerisms the dutch are a generous and caring nation ( most of us).
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2009
This enjoyable little book first caught my eye 20 years ago. Its longevity speaks volumes. The authors (a Brit and an American) spent a combined total of 22 years living in the Netherlands. Throughout the years I've read some of the updated versions and have found that the book has evolved along with Dutch society. The book makes a lot more sense and seems a lot more funny if you have lived in the Netherlands or if you have Dutch relatives.

Chapter 1 gives a brief history of the Netherlands. The other chapters cover different aspects of Dutch life and customs in a mainly humourous fashion. One of my favourite passages is the one about how the Dutch drink their beloved coffee. Another funny part discusses Dutch toilets. There is a chapter covering the Dutch in their former colonies and other places where they have been very influential. The 3 appendices contain some amusing and helpful material about the Dutch language such as a list of Dutch-English words that sound similar (false cognates) but when used incorrectly can be embarrassing.

As for the writing style, the book paints a caricature, using humour, exaggeration and other elements to expose and describe quirks, habits and traits, not all unique to Netherlanders but that create a colourful cocktail or mosaic of these interesting people. I have given copies to several Dutch friends and it is always well received. Indeed, they tell me the book is a laughing mirror, and they like the book title.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
This book is so funny and enjoyable it really gives the visitor an inside view of the dutch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2017
Wonderful handbook for afficionados of the Dutch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2017
No issues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2005
I think some of the people who wrote the reviews below should lighten up. The book is funny to read and should not be taken as an attack towards the dutch. It is fun to read and a lot of subjects are recognized by people who are either from Holland or know someone from there! I don't think it is a book you will open and read in one go but it is fun to pick it up every once in a while and read a through it. (or place it in the toilet as a lot of people over here in holland do).
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2007
I bought this book just today, not from Amazon, but in a local Dutch bookstore. Being Dutch, born and raised, I'm surprised at how much of this is actually true! Ok, some secrets we would have rather kept to ourselves but hey? if you can't laugh at yourself, who can you laugh at. Ignore the statements about this being unreadable, it's a fun book to browse through and have a laugh. Don't take it too seriously, just as you do with the Dutch A definate succes!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2001
A great -I dare say indispensable- book for anyone, particularly anglophone, spending some time in the Netherlands. It would make a great gift for anyone in Holland for some time for study or work. Particularly apt would be to give it to someone after they've been in Holland for a few months --just long enough to start really picking up on the quirks of the lowlanders.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2000
I gave this book to a friend of mine, who wanted to learn Dutch. She speaks it very well, so I thought let's give her the Dutch translation. In a week time 5 friends of her. They all like it very much. It is a must for everybody who wants to understand the dutch, and even for Cloggies is it very amusing to read it! (I am Dutch)
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2005
The book was given to me by my |Dutch boss on my first day working in the wonderful Netherlands. Perhaps this ability to laugh at oneself is one of the reasons British tv humour is so popular (and not dubbed). Its a very amusing book. An early version of Bill Bryson
Read and giggle !!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)