Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26

on 26 June 2013
Grown up and educated in his families christian and jewish society Leopold Weiss began looking more and more critical at the religious embedding of their lives! - Being a journalist he travelled frequently to the courts of foreign nations governments, - thus having soon several famous friends, - especially in Arabia! - He began liking their lives more and more, - and so he soon regarded the Islam as the much more honest and credible religion! - My statement: - At his time obviously "Islamism" was no word of the vocabulary! - !!! - And thus also the feeling of Hamad Abdel-Samad: - "The Countdown of the Islamic World", - "Der Untergang der islamischen Welt", - has not jet com up! - !!! -
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2014
This is unquestionably a wonderful book! The author is a very clever and talented writer you find yourself reading a book that is valid for all times and generations. A book full of information and knowledge in different fields of life. In this book Mohamed Asad built a strong bridge to connect the westerns to the beautiful religion of islam. I really enjoyed reading this book very much and I definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2007
This is a book about travel and the journey of one man through the geographical roads of the material earth, as well as the intellectual and spiritual odyssey he makes through the hills and plains of his own soul. Both journeys culminate in one place: Mecca - where he stays for some years having found the spiritual and intellectual contentment there which had eluded him in Europe. An interesting and inspiring way to learn more about Islam, in a way especially accessible to Westeners, as the author IS a Westerner who chose to accept the faith of Islam, and is thus able to articulate his faith's ideals in language understadable by his native Europeans. Also, this book is an alternative to normal introductory texts on Islam, as the basic precepts of the faith are clothed in the narrative discourse of the author's life himself. A good read, even if only as a book on travel and culture - highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2015
Great Book. more about human journey and realisation of self than pure religion. MUHAMMED understands the religion through his personal experience. A great journey to go on with the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2016
A must read! Fascinating story. I read it twice. I loved it so much that I'd probably read it again at some point. He is a prolific writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
some one gave me this book and I as I began to read it became compulsive reading. the title may be deceptive but its not incorrect as it is one man's journey through the middle east esp Saudia beginning in the heartland of Europe. a very good read with adventure and history of the period
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2017
The way this author writes is truly a work of art
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
Another very well written book very thought provoking shows how well Mohammed Assad understood Islam and God's to humanity delivered through Prophet MOHAMMED.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
A very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2013
An unusual personal journey that allows a glimpse into an Islamic world that changed the perspective and life of the writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)