Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 11 August 2016
I read this when it was new and was not disappointed reading it again. This novel is set in the same universe as there Vorkosigan stories, but centuries earlier. It stands apart from the rest of the Saga - you don't need to have read any of the others to set the scene for this one and reading this one helps only slightly with the main Saga stories.

The novel has a strong concept and - to me - novel concept in the quaddies - humans genetically adapted for life in space.The author develops the idea well with a developing and perilous situation, corporate and personal villainy, action, suspense and some almost MacGyver style precision engineering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
If you like your sci fi complex and full of characters who have rational reasons for misbehaving, Bujold is worth a read.
This is an account of the exploitation of a manufactured, new kind of ethnic group by a faceless corporation and the consequences generated by a small group of employees who stand up for morality above the bottom line. It is a thoughtful and heart-warming story that made me think. No space battles, no mad scientists, no blood drenched aliens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2015
3.5 stars

Starts out a bit slow and sophomoric, but by about half-way through becomes a bit more complex and satisfying. The writing style is very straightforward and almost simplistic, and the plot is completely linear.

Still, the characters are mostly charming, the villain not quite a cardboard cliché, and the hero an Engineer, of course.

Bujold is clearly not showing off in this book, and I hope "Shards of Honour" has a bit more depth and breadth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2017
Very predictable old fashioned sifi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2016
Finally got round to the first of McMaster Bulold's books about the wormhole universe. It was worth the wait, excellent story with real people and relationships. The story of the engineer and the Quaddie referred to in the free-fall ballet scene in 'Diplomatic Immunity'. Recommended to all fans of the Vorkosigan Saga, and all who like good story telling by a master writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2016
Miles doesn't appear in this one but it's still a great, exciting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
good enough to persuade me to buy book II. nicely thought through characters and science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2016
Pretty good but didn't hold my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2016
I started reading this with not many expectations. Little did I know it is part of a well-loved saga of brilliant story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
Loved this book! different starting premise, and a lovely read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here