Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
This recipe book took me really by surprise. It challenges completely our view of cooking (i.e. those of us who are not Indian) and which foods & spices go well together. I love the fact that recipes indicate whether your body type (Vatta, Pitta or Kapha) will increase or decrease and also very helpful (apart from the recipes which sound absolutely scrummy) is the chart telling you which foods to avoid and which you can have.

In three days only of avoiding the foods indicated, my body is already giving me the "thumbs up".

I can't wait to try the recipes, particularly the bread (on page 152) without yeast.

Thoroughly love this book (and can also recommend the other book by him "The complete book of Ayurvedic recipes".

Please buy this book - you seriously won't regret it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
If you want lots of recipes and a good understanding of how to eat according to the principles of Ayurveda then I highly recommend this book to you. If you want a glossy cookbook then this is possibly not for you. I am very pleased with this book. The ingredients are easy to come by and the recipes are very tasty.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
This is an excellent book for anyone wishing to set up a traditional Ayurvedic kitchen. At the beginning of the book there is a shopping list of everything you need to get started which is inexpensive and saves so much time. The recipes are delicious, quick to prepare and each clearly indicates the effect they have on the doshas. At the back of the book, there is lots of useful information including lists of foods by dosha and their therapeutic effects which really helps the reader to learn Ayurveda quickly and simply. There are even meal plans for each dosha at various times of the year - what a brilliant teacher Dr Lad is.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Great book. I use it almost every day, although I would love more recipes and more variety. I hope Vasant Lad and his wife come up with another one. Thank you
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
gift . quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
It's simple, easy to follow and completely compatible with western food and products. It comes with a complete guide with all foods and their qualities, enabling you to understand what's good for your constitution. It's an excellent cookbook for vegetarians as well!!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Amazing. A very insightful and helpful book with some delicious recipes. The only drawback is that a lot of the recipes have fairly similar flavours - as the authors have aimed at consistently tridoshic recipes. But the teaching here allows you to creatively adapt through helping you to understand your own body and its interaction with food. It's powerful stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
This is another great book by the fantastic and internationally respected Ayurvedic physician Dr Vasant Lad and his wife. An inspirational teacher and speaker, Dr Lad has done tremendous work in promoting a positive understanding of human health and wellbeing.
As a practising Ayurvedic Therapist I often recommend Dr Lad's books including this one to my clients who love Indian food. It has some delicious traditional recipes and a quick food reference guide at the back.
For the Western palate and diet I would recommend other books with recipes that reflect their seasonal cuisine and culture.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Excellent ; We use it at home regularly and found is very helpful in preparing our meals..We would ask all lovers of natural food products to buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
The book is full of lovely recipes and information for self help in health concerns, I bought it for the kitcharis recipes, very nice.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)