Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11

on 25 August 2014
This book is comprehensive. By that I mean comprehensive. There are chapters that will bore you ridged with detail. You want to know about spinning wheels? You will know about them by the time you have done that chapter, gosh will you know. It is a look into to find out book. I began by reading from the beginning and by the end of the first chapter my eyes were crossed. There is a wealth of knowledge. I would not recommend it as a learn to spin book. But once you have managed a yarn or two, this book is a must have. Its language is a bit old fashioned but get over that and there is a lot of useful stuff. How to card, how to spin, how to heckle, how to use a distaff, a what? Read this book and you will be the pub bore about distaffs. It is that old fashioned type of book that you find at the back of the book shop, take home and never part with.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Brilliant book for a beginner and expert alike, Amos writes in a friendly and humble way, he makes you feel confident to just wade in and get going. The book seems to cover just about all aspects of spinning and fibre treatements with no such thing as a failed experiment. I have a feeling this will be a go-to reference for a long time to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2009
This time last year, I couldn't spin. Now there are two spinning wheels in my home and with the help of this book, sheep and alpacas are now being regarded as 'sweater and sock source material'.

The book is written with a gentle tongue-in-cheek sense of humour in a kind and patient way and without the slightest hint of condescension. There are clear explanations of the various methods of carding, spinning and plying and why - you name it, it's there. It's been passed round our Spinning Guild meetings and voted a top source of sensible, clear advice and guidance by both experienced spinners and novices. You could do a lot worse than to add this book to your collection.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2017
Fantastic book for beginners and more skilled spinners! Learned load's best book on spinning i have bought!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2016
Fab
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2018
Love this book - Alden Amos has a lovely sense of humour!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2015
Arrived in good condition - extremely useful book - have recommended it to my colleagues
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2015
Absolutely fascinating ! 😍
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2012
As a comparatively new spinner this contains all the information I need to get going together with some amusing comments. Not a reader more of an encylopaedia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2014
Fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)