Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
A great book for people of all skill levels and interests in film - even just movie buffs! Walter offers both the very interesting origins of physical film editing as well as the dawn of the digital movie age, and the crossover techniques that still exist today with the likes of Spielberg. At the very least there is some great info on editing techniques and understanding when to cut a shot and how to understand confident and nervous acting. There's something for everyone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
This, although in its 2nd edition is very theoretical. Which is quite good for the theory of editing. It tells you what to look out for when putting a movie together. It does meander on 'splicing' which refers to celluloid film and not digital within a computer. The last few added pages refer to digital editing, but still a good read if you are a fan of the films that Walter Murch has actually edited. These are referred to quite often through out this book. If you have no concept of cutting and splicing the old way, give it a miss and find something appropriate for you. I bought this for my students to read and it just didn't blow their skirts up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Essential for any aspiring video editors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Amazing book! Learnt a lot about film editing in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
I can read Walter Murch talking about editing for the rest of my life.
This book is essential for all the video/film editors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Very nice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
If you want to get into video / film editing then buy this book as its a wonderful insight into the editing process - this guy has been editing since the 60s-present and its written in a really freindly, matey sort of way - very ingrossing and intriguing. The book is also fairly short so can be read quite quickly.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2004
Really good and very interesting.
Walter Murch is a film hero and this book goes some way to explain why. It tells in his own words how and why he works and is refreshing in that the writer talks about new technology in a positive light, despite being grounded in traditional methods.
Going in to detail about when and why we blink he takes this and talks about when to cut and how blinking so important. If the audeince blinks at the wrong time then you've lost them. ie Don't cut when the actor blinks - cut when the audeince blinks.
Stuff like that and lots more.
A modest book, jam packed with stuff to think about.
I think I'll edit my next film standing up - see if his advice helps my film.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
The man's an absolute genius! A must buy for any aspiring filmmaker!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)