Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2017
Excellent look at the alternative purpose of the pyramids. Cogently argued and carefully researched. It appears that facts are not welcome to the archeological community unless they fit the narrative. That huge stone blocks were cut and placed is a fact, far more accurately that we can currently do. but how it was done is not known. Yes, you could carve and smooth them with basic tools, but anyone who has tried it has not explained how the larger blocks were cut and moved, nor why. Nor have they actually persisted in their attempts. Dunn starts with the evidence and then formulates a theory which is believable and logical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Again and maybe it's me ! I found this book hard going, although most of it's content was VERY familiar, having been reading this type of information for 43 years; there are no revelations in here, just a re-visit and overview, with general investigation and exploration of the Giza.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Absolutely mind blowing , I'm an engineer myself and have studied Egypt since I was a child ,just got back from a private kings chamber tour and what Chris talks about in this book really makes sense and adds a real excitement about our ancient ancestors ,I personally believe he has hit the nail on the head with this easy to read exciting and amazing book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Everything explained really well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
What a book! Great to have an alternative view of the Great Pyramid and one that challenges the "accepted" current theory.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
(Edited 29/09/2012)

Whilst it is of course open to anyone to come up with a theory about the Great Pyramid and write a book about it, and indeed many have done so, as someone who has had a deep interest in ancient Egypt since early childhood I have always found the theories to be lacking. Generally it seems most theories don't explain everything that has so far been found inside the pyramid or they resort to orthodoxy one way or another. Christopher Dunn's theory on the other hand is the most complete and the most convincing that I have yet read, and the engineer in me tells me that he's right, or very nearly right.

The beauty of his theory is that not only does it explain everything found and recorded, from the noxious smell reported by early explorers to the salt encrustation on the walls of the so-called Queen's Chamber, without any single component it would fall apart. In other words, it demands the existence of everything which is currently known, and even allows the author to predict the nature of previously undiscovered features such as the apparent downward hole in the cavity behind Gantenbrink's Door.

Christopher Dunn is a machinist, someone who has spent half a lifetime with machines and tools, and has spent the last 20 years or so working to "reverse-engineer" the known features of the Great Pyramid of Giza with a technologist's knowledge and experience and has arrived at the unshakeable conclusion that this was without a doubt an energy-generation device; a coupled oscillator which was precisely tuned to the resonant frequency of the earth itself; which operated on acoustical energy generated in the so-called "Grand Gallery" (in reality an acoustical resonance chamber), amplified in the King's Chamber then emitted from one of the shafts which are conventionally thought to be air-shafts. The other shaft carried into the King's Chamber the microwave input signal, the ever-present background resonance of universal hydrogen for which the perfect waveguide would be the exact dimensions of this shaft. The granite box in the King's Chamber, reputed to be a sarcophagus, was in reality (due to the high quartz content in the granite) essentially a crystal oscillator.

Whilst the author, with disarming honesty, admits he does not know exactly how the microwave energy emitted was harnessed, it is of course well-known that Nicola Tesla demonstrated over a century ago how to transmit electricity without the use of wires; if the ancients were knowledgeable enough to create such devices then it goes without saying they would have found a way to harness the energy created.

Dunn shows how the "Kings Chamber" is essentially a resonant cavity such as found in a guitar, perfectly tuned to the F Sharp chord despite being made of granite; how the massive granite beams in the so-called Relieving Chambers above the King's Chamber contain holes which show where material was removed in order to perfectly tune them to very specific frequencies (or notes); and how there was a massive explosion in antiquity which damaged the walls and ceiling of the King's Chamber, cracked the granite beams above it and effectively ended the Giza Power Plant's operational life. Conventional thinking is that the damage is the result of an earthquake. This however does not make sense; the 350-feet long Descending Passage deviates by approximately 1/4 inch over its entire length despite being bored 200 feet into the bedrock beneath the pyramid, yet shows no sign of any earthquake disturbance in the very place where it would be most expected.

The nature and date of the event which put an end to this civilisation is, in my opinion, a hugely interesting question with a number of possible answers. Whilst as always conventional theories, paying lip-service to the principles of uniformity, fail to explain anything convincingly, for anyone who has read the works of "catastrophists" such as Immanuel Velikovsky, David Talbott, Dwardu Cardona, and a host of others, there are many possibilities worthy of consideration. Velikovsky, perhaps the "father" of modern catastrophism and also possibly the most perceptive, suggested there were global cataclysms around 3500 years ago, around 6000 years ago, and the greatest, the Universal Flood, possibly some time within the last 10,000 years. He also suggested there were others, on a greater or lesser scale, that have occurred whilst homo sapiens has lived on the planet. There are, of course, many variations. Cardona and Talbott for instance, both originally influenced by an unpublished suggestion of Velikovsky's, came from completely different directions yet both arrived at the exact same conclusion: that the Earth was once a satellite of the planet we now know as Saturn, once the father of all mythological gods. It seems likely to me that the cataclysm which undoubtedly ended the working life of the Great Pyramid occurred rather earlier than later, perhaps 10,000 years ago, and that the scattered remnants of a once-great people took many millenia to recover and rebuild a civilisation which was a shadow of its former self, no longer possessing the knowledge or wherewithal to regain its former glory. Its rather pathetic attempts to emulate earlier works culminated in the Step Pyramid of Djoser, an artefact which we have always been told is the oldest pyramid due to its crude construction but is actually most likely the youngest for the very same reason. I think the reason we have so far not stumbled across the machinery that undoubtedly once absolutely MUST have existed in order to creation this amazing machine is because numerous planetary catastrophes have occurred within the past 10 millennia or so and that if it still exists it lies buried far beyond our present capacity for recovery - if we knew where to even start looking.

Many will scoff at such theories as far-fetched, conditioned as they are to believe that the majority view is the correct one. Yet so far no-one has proposed a satisfactory explanation for the existence of the Antikythera Mechanism, a mechanical astronomical computer recovered from a Greek ship which sank in approximately 100 B.C. This, it seems, offers irrefutable proof that the majority view is desperately in need of major revision at least, and possibly even complete rejection, for it clearly demonstrates that, even if it were the only such artefact ever to have existed (which is highly unlikely for many reasons), still there was at one time in grey antiquity a civilisation which possessed a technology which would not have been out of place in the early 20th Century. The fact that this object may have been today's equivelant of a Grandfather clock in its own time is neither here nor there; no conventional explanation has yet been able to account for it, and its very existence is a stark reminder that the more we insist we have now discovered everything there is to be discovered, the less we, or rather those who insist on clinging to such narrow-minded views, actually know about the recent history of the planet Earth and the human race.

The now undeniable fact that there was previously an advanced civilisation capable of creating the industry necessary to manufacture the precision tools with which to then engineer a precision instrument such as the Antikythera Mechanism is lent additional weight by the superlative work of Dunn who documents what seems to be irrefutable evidence that the ancient Egyptians possessed advanced machining techniques which allowed them to cut and drill through igneous rocks such as granite, diorite and basalt apparently far quicker and more efficiently than we can today. They also apparently possessed the ability to guide high-powered precision stone cutting, shaping and inscribing tools through three or more axes with incredible accuracy and reliability in order to cut and shape granite and other hard igneous rocks, among the hardest known naturally occurring substances, into huge and yet intricate shapes as though they were plastic, and suggests that for him the question of the nature of the technology used to guide these tools, rather than the fact that the tools themselves indisputably once must have existed, is perhaps the more fascinating aspect.

There is much much more to this book. Whilst only 280 pages there is a huge amount of information and analysis contained within it, and for anyone who finds themselves dissatisfied with the current paradigm of Egyptology which insists that these staggeringly huge and yet amazingly precise structures were built by the ancients for purposes as prosaic as burial or stargazing, this is to my knowledge the most holistic theory yet presented. Read it yourself - I am sure you will similarly feel that the apparent mystery of the true purpose of the Great Pyramid of Giza is no longer a mystery.
33 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Although I really enjoy speculative and thought provoking writings such as this I'm afraid this one was just not compelling enough to keep me engaged.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
This book makes bold claims. However, it backs each one up with hard scientific fact - something, that sadly, orthodox Egyptologists fail to do.

The evidence for an advanced civilization has always been here but unfortunately has been suppressed by elitists who wish to retain their rank and power by keeping the "masses" in the dark and subservient to their "truth". However, with the dawning of our latest technological age (and thanks to YouTube) the real truth of our past is becoming more easily accepted and the evidence for it is becoming more accessible to ordinary people like myself.

When I read an excellent book like this one and marvel at the sheer weight of evidence presented by Dunn I am left bewildered as to how this evidence is still not being reviewed. Dunn makes a very strong case for his theory and backs everything his says with facts not conjecture.

Dunn also rightly points out that archeologists are not experts in machining or engineering and can easily miss or misinterpret important evidence (in my opinion many times this is done deliberately. If I feel unwell and want advise on getting better I listen to a doctor before I listen to a mid-wife, if I want to know how a car engine works I will listen to a mechanic before I listen to a car salesman ...... if I want to know how the pyramids where made and what their purpose was I will listen to a machinist, builder and engineer before I listen to an archeologist.

If you are open minded and eager to find your own truth rather than thoughtlessly digesting the spoon-fed versions of history given to us by the mainstream communities then you will be fascinated by this book!
44 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My favourite remark about poor science is the brilliant 'It's not even wrong" in that it doesn't even assert anything that constitutes a substantive proposition. I have read Von Daniken, Graham Hancock and Dunn joins the dismal list justifying H.L. Mencken's dictum "no-one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public" although I would not single out Americans, people not finding the Egyptians fascinating enough and feel the need to propose a Higher Purpose are legion. I do not claim to be an expert on technology but the speculations herein are implausible to anyone with an ounce of sense. That there is no evidence to support the author's thesis hasn't got in the way of Dunn spinning a yarn and, like Von Daniken in the 1970's, this dog too will have its day.
Easy enough to read, though best done with a technically-minded friend nearby. When I regaled him with what seemed to be unlikely I thought he had a cough, when in fact he was choking with laughter. It is at least a stupid a 'theory' as Ms Ann Elk's on Brontosauruses in Monty Python's 2nd series, "Brontosauruses are thin at one end, much, much thicker in the middle, and then thin again at the the other end." To which the saurian amateur was met with the withering rejoinder, "That's IT, is it?" Quite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)