Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 January 2012
I bought this as a stocking filler for my husband... he's a Potter by name and birthplace, and we regularly bring mass orders of oatcakes down to the South West - they batch freeze beautifully! I was delighted to find this a serious and well researched piece of work, covering much more ground than I'd expected from such a relatively slim volume. The history of how different cereal crops influenced the diet of our ancestors was particularly interesting. But it's not hard going ... Ms Sambridge writes well,and her enthusiasm is infectious. The book is actually hard to put down, and I know it will earn a permanent place on our bookshelves. Highly recommended for anyone who has ever eaten an oatcake, but also for anyone with an interest in domestic history.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
A fascinating and well researched book which covers the history of Staffordshire (and Derbyshire) oatcakes and pikelets. It dismisses the story that they were brought back by the Staffordshire regiment from the Indian Raj, and goes back much further in history. It's fully illustrated throughout and shows how they've evolved through history to the present day.
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
this is a very well researched and informative look at the social history connected to the oatcake. as someone who lived around the corner to the hole in the wall shop, featured in the book, its lovely to know it has now been made famous by the author ,and dave myers and si king from the "hairy bikers" tv show. if you love social history, love food and love staffordshire, then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
An interesting and informative read. Well worth the purchase. Good comments from friends who borrowed it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
Great to find a local history book that is so well written and researched. It goes well beyond a simple compilation of local, collected stories (and myths) about The Oatcake. Instead it looks at historical evidence of its origins in Staffordshire moorland life, why oats were used locally as a significant staple food and even how the 'bake-stone' as a method of cooking is linked to place names. It then comes up to date with recent developments, recipes and a list of local Oatcake shops still in business.
Well illustrated with additional page notes that make it a good browse too. Excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
We Stokies always say that BY FAR THE BEST WAY to enjoy oatcakes is to have them hot, filled with hot bacon and hot melted cheese, & rolled up. They're also good filled with hot sausages (sliced lengthways) and hot melted cheese, and if you can also get some grilled sliced tomatoes in there with either of these versions they're irresistible! Bon appetit!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
This little book is the "Bible " for Staffordshire oatcake enthusiasts. There are recipies and photographs. The locations of the shops are well documented and the book is well set out . In all a very good read too. I recommend this to anyone who wishes to familiarise themseves with the culinary delights of Staffordshire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
This is a fascinating history of the origins of the Staffordshire oatcake. Nostalgic photographs, little-known facts, yet Pamela Sandbrook writes with such an easy flowing style that I sat totally absorbed on a dark January evening. My daughter bought the book for me at Christmas, thinking it would help me in my own research (I write novels set in the Potteries and have mentioned oatcakes in each, beginning with the first, Ring of Clay), but I made not a single note because I was reading it with such pleasure - it brought back so many memories. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This book is an informative history of the Staffordshire staple food, the oatcake. I have sent copies to Australia and New Zealand - spread the love of the oatcake!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I'm a North Staffordshire and was surprised at some of the history of one of my favourite foods. Good reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)