Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
A User-friendly Dictionary of Old English and Reader
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 January 2015
Much more than a dictionary, with lots of useful guidance and explanations of the language anyhow it works. Reading exercises, extracts of texts with translations - in fact the dictionary part takes up only half of the book as a whole. I'm finding it a great complement to the other OE texts I am working with (Pollington's First Steps in Old English, and Mitchell and Robinson's A Guide to Old English).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Just what I was looking for to help with studies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
This is a terrific little book and a great source of information as a referral from an old english course or as a quick reference.

The text is clear and the sections on pronunciation and grammer invaluable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
The book is well laid out and offers a useful progression of grammatical phrases, together with exceprts from poetry and prose in both old and modern English. The Dictionary itself is however laid out in an alphabetical fashion distinct from the norm and I did not fimd this easy to follow. Despite this however, I still rate the book with five stars.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I bought this for my husband who has developed an interest in studying Old English in order to access the written word. He is not an academic, teaching himself from a variety of mixed resources and this book has provided a very good basic introduction. Although it is a small book and therefore limited in the amount of material it can cover there are things in it that are not in other books; so, all in all, it is a useful basic reference book. He has found Stephen Pollington's First Steps in Old English: An Easy Way to Follow Language Course for the Beginner(ASIN:189828119X), an excellent follow on.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
this shows its not a dead language, really worth reading. Its a lot more than a dictionary, and helps you see where our language originated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Really useful for old English learners,but also fascinating to help look at the exisiting old English words in modern English!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I am writing this review for my Mum as I bought the book for her. She is in her early 70's and loves reading and wanted an Old English dictionary to have at hand whilst reading historical novels. She said she loves it and found it really helpful. I know from reading previous reviews it's not set out in alphabetical order and I thought that she might struggle using it but she hasn't had any problems and said that it's actually helpful having it set out in the way it is. She would highly recommend this to others who want something on the bookshelf that they can reference when coming across odd words whilst reading historical book/novels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)