Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 26 April 2013
I regularly read the blog on "Snouts in the trough" and so I am well aware of the approach taken by the author and this book is written in a similar though slightly more constrained style. It makes a very informative read and every chapter adds more facts which cause me to ask how our government can get away with it. I would like to say it is an enjoyable book and certainly the style is excellent and well researched - it is just that so frustrating to find out what is being done by the Coalition. Having said that I am thoroughly enjoying it and I recommend this to anyone who wants to be able to argue with researched facts rather than opinions. An excellent book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2013
This book is basically an updated version of all the other books David Craig has written where he rants against all the smug arrogance, corruption, incompetence and hypocrisy of the people who run modern Britain.

Even for those who have read his previous books, there are good things about this book. There are updated statistics and examples demonstrating where the coalition is failing to live up to its promises to reign in the excesses of Labour waste.

Much of the book summarises his other books but often over simplifies. The tone is sensationalist, sarcastic and often fails in attempting to be witty, all contribute unnecessary verbosity. Most annoying is its vagueness about details. An example is on page 275 where half the page describes "one of the most histrionically vociferous members of the Public Accounts Committee" and this individual's arrogance and incompetence... but this individual is never identified. Why not? If Mr. Craig is factually correct and avoids exaggeration then he has no reason to fear libel. Throughout the book, these kind of unnecessary omissions are frustrating and sometimes, detract from its credibility. In other places, identities of people can be inferred by checking the (sparse) references but omissions remain annoying.

So overall, the book is disappointing. Far from his strongest book but nevertheless, interesting in some parts for the updated material.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
This book is an absorbing read that highlights the immense failings of our 'leaders' over the past 3 governments.

It will leave you feeling outraged and helpless that incompetence, greed, nepotism and selfishness has reduced UK to a shadow of what it should be on the World stage.

Our futures have been blighted by the Unlimited Greed of those whom we thought we could trust as honourable, upstanding men.

Highly recommended by for any Briton who cares about UK and the future of their families well-being. Every voter needs to read this book this year.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2015
I loved this book and found myself reading it in one sitting. His suggested solutions are fairly mainstream and defeatist and there are definitely other peaceful ways, We The People, can claim back our sovereignty and power. The facts and figures that David points out are well worth digesting and many are staggering in their scale. This is a book aimed at someone already researching the subject of corruption and with a bit of background knowledge but definitely earns a place on my bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
The long lead up to next year's General Election will have its precursor in the Euro elections in May this year.

This well researched and clearly written book should be read by all potential voters, who will then discover the depressing truth - those running (or re-running) for political office do not have our best interests at heart.

It is encouraging that someone has revealed what is going on, but sadly the mainstream media pass it by.

This book should horrify and depress you, but forewarned is forearmed.

Read it, spread the word, use your vote and don't let our political masters get away with it - they deserve to be reminded who they represent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2014
An excellent book which deserves a much wider readership. Craig takes the reader past the superficial spin and froth of what passes for political debate in this country and identifies the sad reality facing the tax paying electorate. I thoroughly recommend this book and his others to anybody wishing to inform themselves about the dysfunctional abyss into which the UK is slowly sliding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
A must read for anyone who lives, works and pays taxes in the UK ! this book sets out in no nonsense fashion the disgraceful financial situation foisted on us by anyone and everyone. Don't be mislead by the title of Cameron and Clegg, Labour come in for an even bigger bashing ! it's not just limited to politics, this book covers a wide gammut of financial disgrace including the NHS, Charities, Local Government, Banks, the EU, Financial Advisers, in fact almost anyone and everyone who has a say / dealing with our money ! it's non politically biased, the author dislikes everyone ! although a couple of years out of date now, it's still very relevant and if this book doesn't make you believe there must be massive change in out system and the people who run it, nothing will...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2014
I decided to buy this book after visiting Snouts in the trough regularly and enjoying the way David Craig exposes the corruption in our corridors of power.

Greed unlimited highlights the greed and corruption to which we are exposed from very many sources.

He does go into financial detail, which is needed to support his arguments; Not being financially literate, I found this quite hard going but decided to only " scan " the information I required to understand the plot.

All in all, a very worthwhile and interesting read.

Highly recommended.
D.H. Bristol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
David Craig quotes Winston Churchill in his blog at http://www.snouts-in-the-trough.com/ "The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter". EVERY VOTER SHOULD READ THIS BOOK! Then maybe we will vote the right people into Government rather than get the many that are in it just for what they personally get out of it by ripping everybody else off.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
This is the tale of a happy band of piggies that wilfully protect the interests of their corporatist friends, when they are supposed to be defending the interests of the people that elect them.

Sort of like "Animal Farm" only the pigs are real...

There's Cameron... The senior pig, and his little chum Cleggie, the one with the pot belly.

However, this is no "ripping yarn", this is all true. These piggies really do stand on two legs, and the author (a former statistician) has caught them with their hands deep in our pockets and their snouts firmly in the trough.

An excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)