Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2010
Excellent little books. I bought this and Improving the Rider's Position at the same time. They are superb. Only 24 pages in each but packed with easy to read tips on how to improve your riding. The illustrations are great showing the correct and incorrect aids, the how and the why in different moves. As a beginner I found these invaluable and for example, noticed how my horse reacted to voice exactly as described in the book.

As you progress and learn more difficult things, it's easy to let the initial things slip (there is so much to remember), so it is great to just pick up this book and read a couple of pages, say on holding the reins correctly, or leg position, just to remind yourself of the basics.

Recommended for all ages.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
I am a novice rider. Reading this book has really helped me to understand how to communicate with the horse. It has been written in an easy and understandable way. A gentle run through of how to work in harmony with you horse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Really found this little book useful. I have been riding the same mare for the last 12 years and have developed habits that suit each other! I now own a youngster that has just been backed, and its me that needs to do some relearning. This book is straight to the point, and will be a stepping stone for more advanced work in the spring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
This book is short and sweet but has some well explained information on the rider's cues, or aids as they are named, good diagrams and straight forward teaching, very good!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
being an older rider getting back to riding after over 20 years absence i found this to book to be fun and enjoyable but also informative
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Bought for my grandaughter as she is having riding lessons and hopes for her own pony soon.
It's a handy size to pop into a tack box and full of good basic knowledge, well set out with illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Easy to understand with good, coloured diagrams which are simple to follow. Disappointing if you're looking for something comprehensive and detailed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
A good clear explanation of aids. Good for novice riders. Pictures could be more definitive to clearly explain text. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I would recommend this handy and clearly written little book to anyone starting to learn to ride horses.Thank you very much
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Very disappointed in this. The information is extremely basic and some of it - such as you keep your seat in canter by moving your upper body backwards and forwards - is just plain wrong. Next time, I'll opt for something BHS recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)