Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
41
Mountain Navigation
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 1 March 2009
I bought a copy of the 6th Edition (pink title header where the Amazon image shows blue) as an update to the 1987 3rd Edition. The reorganised book remains "succinct, precise, clear an comprehensive". It is an invaluable guide to the beginner wanting to learn the elements of OS map reading and compass work in the uplands of Britain or someone wanting to brush up his or her route planning and navigation techniques.

The 6th Edition has deleted reference to the now historical 1st Series 1:50,000 OS maps and now includes a short section on GPS.

I advise the reader to make up his or her own mind where Peter Cliff offers strong opinions about certain topics, e.g., techniques for estimating time and the use of route cards.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2018
The classic guide to navigation. Everything you need to know and nothing you don't. Fits in a pocket - take it with you. I lost my original copy and immediately bought another, along with copies for my 2 nepjews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2010
Member of Rescue team and ex-soldier. This is a great book and i still find it useful. Its no-nonsense and layman explanations are super. Its not a big book, short to the point which is what you want. Anyone wanting expert high altitude, ice/snow etc should maybe go for different issue but for the basics and intermediates this is the boy!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2016
Nice concise explanation on the key things necessary for navigating on the hills safely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2012
A goog book from start to finish for the average navigator upwards. I feel basic skills are needed to be able to get the most out of this book but on the whole is good.
the book came quickly and was packaged well, its layout is great and the photos are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
Brilliant up date to my 1st edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2011
This Mountain Navigation gives a good introduction to basic techniques that will get you started with a map and compass but also goes quite a bit further. Sections include points on interpreting contours into features, route selection, identifying slope aspect and advice on estimating time and distance covered. Also has additional sections such as bad weather nav, glacier work and GPS features. Good little book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2017
This is the basic navigation information that I need . Perfect for somone like me who had basic navigational skills
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
This is an excellent book as an introduction to mountain navigation. Being just 64 pages long, it's concise and breaks down the individual points without anything unnecessary included. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wanted to start Hiking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Bought as a gift for a friend. I had an earlier version than this and it helped me learn the skills I have today. Can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)