Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 11 March 2009
I learnt harmonisation of a Bach chorale when I did my A-Levels in 1997-1999. I recently had an interview for a place on a PGCE course, and so had to brush up on this skill.

For me, this book is pitched just right, giving helpful tips and reminding me of the main rules of harmonisation. Any more in depth and I would have been swamped, and probably wouldn't have finished it. There are also a number of harmonisation exercises that, to be honest, I didn't do, but could be helpful to people who don't have their own harmonising exercises to hand.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
This is a very thin book (actually two very, very thin books put together) that covers things in an overly simplistic way with no real depth. The book is not without merit, but there are far better resources out there for this sort of thing (for example, check out Four Part Harmony by Classroom Resources which is considerably better at explaining what you need to know).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This works as a basic introduction to Bach chorales that will point you in the right direction from scratch, but I agree with the other reviewers who point out that there is a lack of depth - certainly it would benefit from more discussion of harmonic resource, and the inclusion of more musical examples to illustrate this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This little book is most helpful in understanding Bach chorale harmony. The section on counterpoint is also most helpful. It's a shame that this volume goes out of print so often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Incredibly useful book, essential reading for undergraduate level study of Bach chorales and counterpoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Quick delivery, great quality. I couldn't be happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2006
I thought the idea and outline of the book had good potential. But to cover harmonic resource in 2 sides is rather a joke - this is typical of the light weight of the section on chorale harmonisation - it takes much longer to read the daily newspaper.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)