Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 June 2001
This is an extremely useful book as, in addition to the historic background, it contains almost 50 pages of colour plates showing examples of a wide range of different pieces each with information on the designer and a price guide. This is followed by a further 26 pages of pattern and price guides. My main criticism is that the backstamp section is rather brief and contains nothing on the individual paintress's signatures. However, it is a useful and practical book, and ideal for a collector (or budding collector).
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2001
The author has done a great job detailing the various periods of Poole Pottery from its inception to present day. It's a book which will appeal to both novice and experienced collectors. It covers all types of decorative and tableware pieces. There is an excellent section containing photographs of items including bowls, jugs, tiles, plates & figurines which also gives descriptions and approximate values. The only criticism would be that the section on "Marks" could have been expanded upon. All-in-all a useful reference aid on the subject.
Another very useful reference is Poole Pottery by Leslie Hayward/Paul Atterbury
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
This is an excellent reference book for anyone interested in Poole Pottery. It has some gorgeous pictures and lots of factual and interesting information. A must buy for Poole addicts!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
A very useful and definitive reference work for the period covered. Any serious Poole pottery collectory should have this in their library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2010
havent finished it yet but its great so far, great pictorial reference, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2015
not what I was expecting .. better to spend a bit more on a better book.. early patterns are here but little use for twintone onwards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2015
what i was loking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2010
What a great little book, I've just started collecting so this is ideal, small enough to fit in my handbag so I can take it with me when shopping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2005
The spinning pottery wheel is a delicate appliance requiring finesse and a steady hand. The potter adheres the clay mound, starts the rotation, and pinchs a hole in the center. Slowly he pulls the slip up, feeling the form grow in his hands. He measures the wall thickness with his slippery fingers. One false move and the clay will flop into a lob-sided mess. It's not even accepted at 41% off, one off to the cemetery for T. This half blood prints very well, and is no friend to the icy-pottery witch.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse