Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 8 January 2006
I'm a big fan of these books because the recipes work! This is no exception. A great range of recipes that are 'traybakes' and good to cut if you have a family, make for get togethers or take to fund raisers. My only critiscm is that they are quite indulgent but with a bit of thought you can make them more healthy if you want to! Another recommendation would be the Cafe Style Cakes book from this series. If you need to bake things on a regular basis both of these books can't really be beaten for value for money. I always get compliments on everything I bake from them and the majority of the recipes are so easy.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2007
This great little book is a must, tray bakes for parties, sleepovers, cake stalls, school fete's, Church fete's. Its full of such easy to make, lovely cakes.... even some great no bakes to make with the grandchildren from a very young age. The Australian Womens Weekly make some great books, I have bought several recently and haven't found a bad recipe yet!!! Keep them coming excellent value for money.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 March 2008
I love the Australian Women's Weekly baking series and collect them all as they come out. This is a small book but there are lots of fantastic recipes. A lot of the recipes do contain coconut, fruit or nuts although if you're not a fan on nuts etc you can reduce the amount or leave them out completely and the slices still come out great (I've tried it!).

I don't have any complaints about this book - the recipes are all UK-friendly and don't require any conversion. They are easy to follow even for beginners. Slices are a great alternative to cakes and biscuits and this book has a nice variety of slices in a variety of textures e.g. go-ey luscious choc macadamia squares, crumbly chocolate rum & raisin slices (just made these yesterday without the rum - yum!), crunchy coffee malt slices, chewy fruit chews and melt-in-the mouth tangy lemon squares. A really good addition to anyone's kitchen shelf and at a bargain price!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
This is a great secret weapon for cake stalls, coffee mornings and the like. Nothing too difficult- ingredients all easy to get hold of. I agree that some recipes are not for the calorie concious but we all deserve a treat! (or 2). Quite a few more healthy muesli bar type ones that my kids love in their packed lunches. So much nicer to make your own- you can't buy things like these in the shops. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
SIMPLE SLICES (AUSTRALIAN WOMANS WEEKLY MINI) .........We enjoyed many of the 'slices' which we in the UK call tray bakes when on joliday in New Zealand at the beginning of the year. I have made a number of the recipes from this book and two others one of which I purchased while on holiday. They tend to be very sweet (wonderful) and condensed milk is used freely which is rather an expensive ingredient especially in Australia and New Zealand, much pricier than in the Uk. I shall continue to try new recipes and not count the calories !!!!!
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Great little book with some brilliant tray bake recipes using easily obtainable ingredients. Also contains a glossary, temperature conversion chart etc. so anyone can use it. Quantities given in grams as well as "cups" so no confusion as to weight of ingredients.
Have made several of the recipes which have all been excellent and many can be adapted to use your own additions.
Highly recommend this little book.. excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Lots of ideas for tray bakes, most suitable for any charity or school table sales.
Some of the ingredients are not sold here in UK but can daily be substituted after
a quick look online for a little advice.

Having now tried some 8 of the recipes I can also relay they are tasty and down linger on the plate for to long especially when the young are around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I just love the Australian Women's Weekly collection of books for baking. Easy recipes that are even easier to follow. Great results are obtained every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Just received my copy of this book, and i was very excited about getting it.

Do not buy this book if you hate coconut - it is full of it! i do hate it, but am just going to leave it out in the hopes all will be well.

simple and easy to follow, but does have some ingredients that may be hard to find.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)