Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 10 August 2017
I really enjoyed reading this book and it is one of the best books I have ever read. It is really well worded and the plot is extremely good.

In this book bony Lizzie ,the witch, returns,and she has become even more powerful . She is very dangerous and is a threat to the world. However,Tom ward's master, Mr Gregory, is growing older and is struggling to fight her , so Tom and Alice,the good witch and tom's best friend(she is also the daughter of bony Lizzie and the devil),are left to defeat her alone, along with some help from other people.Once again,Alice saves everyone's life.

Overall I would really recommend this book to ages 10+. It is very spooky and I could not put it down. I especially liked the ending. This is such a great book and is really worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Once again a great book from this author following the tales of the spooks appreciate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
What's not to like, can't recommend this series enough

Not a great fan of Harry Potter but these are addictive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 August 2010
Whenever you get back from a vacation, it's always nice to get back home... unless soldiers have burned your home, and an evil witch is now on the loose. So you can guess what happens in "The Spook's Nightmare," a solid new chapter in the tale of the Spook's apprentice -- bits of horror speckling an darkly elusive fantasy story.

The Spook, Alice and Tom return to Chipenden... only to find that soldiers have burned the village, including the Spook's cottage. So the trio head off to find a safe place, and end up heading for the remote island of Mona, which isn't very witch/Spook-friendly. Soon Tom and Alice are imprisoned as witches, and are in danger of either being killed by a deadly test... or being eaten by a buggane.

However, that turns out to be only the start of their problems, since at least two witches are loose on Mona, and a demonic buggane is threatening them along with a shaman. And even worse, an old enemy has been brought to the island -- and she's more powerful now than she's ever been before, fulfilling the Spook's nightmare.

Joseph Delaney seems to have a knack for inserting very mundane fears -- the death of loved ones, being buried alive -- into a dark fantasy setting. And in "The Spook's Nightmare," it's all about suddenly losing your home and all your possessions, and being cast adrift in a cold cruel world. Plus evil witches causing trouble on top of that.

And the change of setting doesn't change Delaney's prose, which is surprisingly dark for a kids book. Blood, bones, straw and mud coat this adventure, as well as some monstrous creatures (the buggane is hairy, squat and oily, with two layers of omnivorous teeth). And there are some powerful moments, such as when poor Tom is being compelled to attack an innocent family of dogs.

The one problem is that Tom seems a LITTLE too calm about that whole soul-selling business, but otherwise the characterization here is pretty solid. But the kind-hearted apprentice and the strong-willed Alice are still likable leads, and Delaney has begun delicately introducing the questions of what toll age is bringing to the Spook -- his power is waning, and the loss of his treasured library is a massive shock.

"The Spook's Nightmare" is a solid new chapter to the tale of the Spook's apprentice, reintroducing us to a truly horrible enemy. And the door is still open for more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Bought the whole series of these books for my thirteen year old nephew and he loved reading them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
This is the latest book in the collection. The story has a lot of exciting twists and turns throughout the book. The collection is about the spooks apprentice going through the training battetling the dark. I would recommend anyone who is intrested in withches , magic and demons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
If you have read the other Spooks books you will not be disappointed with this latest addition to the Wardstone Chronicles. Tom, Alice and Old Gregory face another tough challenge which had me turning the pages so fast. This was utterly un-put-down-able for both me and my boyfriend. It's fastpaced and exciting. A must read for Spooks fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 May 2010
Having read the first 6 of the Wardstone Chronicles I did wonder where Joseph Delaney could go next......I needn't have worried. This has to be the best of the bunch so far and I believe there will be more books coming in this excellent series.

There is a war going on in the County and the Spooks house and his beloved library have all been lost. The soldiers also try to capture the Spook, Tom and Alice so they flee to the island of Mona (the Isle of Mann). Their greeting upon arrival is not a good one as the islanders are very insular and suspicious of strangers. However, when they learn that an evil creature called the Buggane is living on the island they are called upon to help. There is also worse ahead when they discover that Bonie Lizzie, Alice's Mother, a Bone and Blood Witch has escaped from her prison in the Spooks then garden. She has become quite powerful once again and it takes all of Toms, Alices and the Spooks ingenuity and skill to catch her.

This book is much darker than the first 6 and in places genuinely scary but so readable that I finished it in one and a half hours flat.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Like some people i have read all of these books and they are all brilliant. But i have to say that i wasen't that surprised of what would happen next after a dramatic event that would make you excited. I always knew what was going to happen which did not give me as much buzz compared to his other books. i dont think there was as much emphasis on what was happening compared to his previous books. I have to say that instead of reading the book in one day i struggled not to pick it up and read all of it and i managed for about two weeks. Delaneys titles are quite addictive and hard not to finish quick. I would definatley Recommend but i just cant wait for the next book because of what the spook learns in the end which i say is the best part of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse