Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2009
I recieved this as a christmas present and was shocked at how good it was! did you know there were female gladiators called Gladiatrices?I certainly didn't!The reason I didn't give this book a 5 star rating was although it looked like a thick book from the outside,I would have liked a bit more information on the inside!Altogether a clever and funny book - thumbs up! (written by Blaise age 10)
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
My eldest daughter got this in her Christmas stocking and, even as a reluctant reader, was completely absorbed due to the engaging content, writing and text structure. Second daughter also read with enthusiasm and now the book has been constantly on loan to both boys and girls in good measure in my class of 10 year olds for the last two years.
The book should not really be entitled Girls are Best, as that message is clearly not Sandi's aim. The book simply points out a) the accomplishments of women throughout history (and how some have been hidden in the retelling of the past), and b) the inequalities that existed in the past and (sadly) today. It does not say that women are better than men, but allows the reader to challenge that women are not inferior to men. Surely everyone wants that for their child?
I think it is a beautiful book for its simplicity and honesty, and of course its child-friendly writing.
Mr Wright need not panic, this book will not turn any child into a man-hater. But it may well begin to equip them for having to deal with less informed individuals who try to hold on to primitive views in order to maintain their own delusions of superiority based on only on their gender.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
An excellent book for girls! Shame it is pink though this doesn't help much with gender stereotyping. Nor does the guy who has left the one star review - what an utter fool, his review should be removed as it is unhelpful, ignorant and extremely offensive!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
My 11 year old daughter raced through this book and loved every page. Given that she was a reluctant reader I'm delighted.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
A good book for younger girls to read, acknowledging that they can accomplish a great deal.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
I got this for my daughter aged 7 and niece aged 15 - it is more suitable for the younger age group i.e. quite large print. My niece kindly said she liked it, but she read it in about half an hour ! Full of fun 'did you know' information about successful women.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Worries about history being "his"story and affecting the self confidence of the young women in your family? This is a great book full of little facts about how women have contributed to the human story. Definitely recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Brilliant! Ms Toksvig is not only very funny, she has an excellent way of explaining how the role of women in history, politics, science, the arts, etc has been criminally overlooked. Apparently, this was meant to be one of a pair of books, with 'Boys Are Best' to be written by an unnamed male comedian. The plan was that the two of them would tour a series of comic debates on the subject. However, the man was apparently too lazy or disorganised to get round to writing his book, so only this one was published. As Sandi said at a recent talk I attended - "We're women - we want the job done!" Fellow men, read this and reflect on the fact that men have been in charge of the world for the last 10,000 years - and what an appalling £$%*-up we've made of it. I'm with Sandi - it's time women had a go, as they couldn't make a worse mess than we have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Gave this as a Christmas present to my 7 1/2 yr old granddaughter, and she was immediately absorbed in it, she loves it to bits.
Excellent value, Sandi Toskvig is a good author, and has the right approach to childrens thinking.
Brilliant buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
Sandi Toksvig is a very funny/witty lady and this is a great bbok for teenage girls - a great deal of useful information presented in a humorous but thought provoking manner
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse