Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 January 2001
Harry Craddock was once asked what was the best way to drink a Cocktail: "Quickly," he replied, "while it's laughing at you!"
The Savoy Cocktail Book first appeared in 1930. Since then it has been revised updated and perfected into an essential handbook.
I've worked on recipes published in the 1977 edition for as long as I can remember but felt an upgrade was called for when I realised that there was another 100 pages in the current edition. Perhaps there are other bartenders out there who are still using their yellowed copy too. Do them an favour and make sure they get a fresh copy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2013
I have a small collection of a few dozen books on cocktails and had been meaning to get this one for a while. I am delighted that I did so.

So far as I can tell, it is a beautifully produced facsimile of the 1930's original, with the original text and illustrations, in colour, printed on good quality paper. It also has a brief contemporary introduction with a few suggestions from the current staff at the Savoy American Bar. Frankly, I find it incredible that some other reviewers have questioned the quality of this publication.

These 1930's cocktails are very much to my taste, as they are generally short, sharp and alcoholic. These are strong drinks for a generation that had been through WW1. The author's comments are also often very funny. For more contemporary cocktail concoctions, mainly of fruit juices and fizzy drinks, it is better to look elsewhere.

Note also that as this is a facsimile, the drinks are simply in alphabetical order. You will get no assistance in terms of an ingredients index.

Not the first cocktail book for a novice, but well worth acquiring if you get a taste for these things.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
Received what looks like inkjet printed pages on cheap paper- the colour is bleeding through between pages.

Disappointing, and bordering on fraudulently presented.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2017
Good quality reproduction of a timeless clasic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2011
.. unless you are happy with an inferior looking product. The book you will receive is not the one pictured. This runs the risk of being false advertising and the seller should be held to account for this by Amazon. The picture, and the details from the 'look inside' section, relate to the 1999 edition which, it seems from another reviewer, is of much better quality. The book I received was the 2011 edition which has a cream cover and feels cheap. So disappointing!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2015
Looks and feels like a cheap knockoff. As if the pages have been photocopied and stick together.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2001
Harry Craddock has often been refered to as the only drink purist, and was probably the world first mixologist. He is certainly well above his contemporary -sorry Mr. Dick Bradsell! As essential as this book may be to any pofesional bartender, it is not on the shopping list of "Ibiza"-styled barmen. Indeed, is has a refreshing lack of disco-drink, and focuses only on true classics -sometimes with a Craddock's twist!. However, before being enlightnened by his masterful exelency, one will have to get their heads around the measurments used in the recipes... -What on earth is a "Pony" or a "split"? But, this is a small price to pay for some of the finest drinks ever created. Last but not least, the packaging is superb!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2013
Oh dear! I bought this because it's beautifully presented and will look cool on my cocktail cabinet. Indeed it does look fab with great illustrations. Unfortunately, it lack an alphabetical drinks index or an index by ingredient. It's therefore pretty useless unless you already know what drink you want to make. I'd recommend The Ultimate Bar Book instead, which is excellent to use, although it suffers from the problem that the fonts are too small.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2016
This is perhaps a nice coffee table book owing to it's front cover, but offers little more. The paper is of a poor quality and pages are merely printed pictures (of text). Cocktails are listed in alphabetical order so it's difficult to read unless you know exactly what you're looking for. Claims to also offer Sours and Toddies.....there are a grand total of two of each and the sours don't use egg white. Not great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2009
Have had this book for a few years now, and can highly recommend it to anyone who works in a cocktail bar, or who is serious about what they drink. This man invented The White Lady(a kind of 1920s Cosmo), and brought the modern Dry Martini to Europe. Harry Craddock was one of the "3 Harrys" of pre 1939 Bartending, along with Harry of Harrys Bar in Paris and Harrys Bar in Venice that quite simply gave Europe a Bartending tradition.As a piece of history, this book also shows how far the world of Wines and Spirits has come. Many of todays leading lights in the bar world will use this as a source book when inventing new creations, or in some cases shamelessly ripping-off old ones! All in all a must for the serious Bartender.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse