Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
45
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2015
It's totally my fault, but I misread the blurb. This is not so much a history of great strategists as a self-help book. I hated it but had I been more careful I would never have bought it in the first place.

As a self-help book I have nothing to compare it against but it sprinkled in quotes and examples from history to its central message nicely, and used a broad range of sources too (from politics as well as war itself).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
For anyone who has read Greene's other books, such as the 48 Laws of Power this book is great addition.

The combination of short historical stories and biographies, sprinkled with anecdotes from some of the most significant events of past and more recent times makes a satisfying read, but Greene goes further and filters out timeless lessons which can be applied in many modern day lives and situations.

Although titled Strategies of War, each of the articles can be applied to many situations, for example "7. Transform your War into a Crusade: Morale Strategies" and "Negotiate while Advancing: The Diplomatic-War Strategy" are such that they can be as useful to a WWII General, or a CEO of Coca Cola, as they may be to somebody focusing on his next job interview.

The application is endless, which is what makes books like this timeless, every time you read a chapter you may be seeking a different solution to a different problem. The only thing to be wary of is not reading it from start to finish or swallowing too much of the "cunning strategies" all at once, it may turn you into a Machiavelli overnight - which in todays society is not something you want to outwardly display (as you will appreciate if you have read 48 Laws of Power).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
No more a plan for life than Book of Five RIngs or Art of War but an say to read synopsis of strategies used in both war and politics.

Saves lots of research and has plenty of useful quotes, a lot simpler to read than paper version which was blighted by very strange fonts and colours
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
This book suffers from trying to cram in too much information, with two commentaries seemingly running side by side, and it seems there are two authors masquerading as one (Robert Greene). However having said that, I enjoyed this volume and read it cover to cover and will probably do so again at some point. It complements well the other books by Robert Greene (Power in particular, and also the 50 cent one). As usual the statements are backed up by hundreds of historical references - anything from biblical to 20th century battles and terrorists are cited as examples - and one is left with a perhaps cynical but nevertheless probably more accurate view of people's motives and tactics in everyday life than one had before reading the book. Revealing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Loved the writing style and the examples in the book. Lots of items to think about and incorporate in my life. Summarized a lot of my individual principles and provided opportunities for discussion with colleagues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Very thought provoking book so many ideas here I read 1 chapter a day so I could think about it through the day, definetly worth buying especially for fans of Robert Greene business minded and those interested in how war works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Some great insights and good overview of strategies, but overall its just far to long winded to be enjoyable. The book had so much premise but didnt, instead i felt myself scrolling through a lot of filler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Very interesting book with lots of great advice and information. The historical examples are particularly enjoyable. It would be 5 stars but I feel it could be shorter at points and as a result left me occasionally feeling bored, but overall a great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
This is a book to keep near you, read, reflect , add notes, go back over. It states that we are all at war , one way or another and if we are not aware, then we are being out manoeuvered. Good news is that there are only 33 strategies. All is backed up with examples from Ancient China, Greece, Roman leaders, American Presidents, British and German generals...fascinating stuff.
Extremely well written, beautifully laid out, highly accessible. Take it at your own pace
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
Equally good to the 'Laws of Power' in every respect.
The two are an excellent study in the application of power games in everyday situations.
War is not only waged among countries - families, workplace, friendly meetings are all subject to the same underlying psychology.

A Must-Have for anyone interested in how/why people do what they do - and how to turn situations to their advantage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)