Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2003
Guide to Financial, by Marc Levinson (former Finance Editor of the Economist) is an excellent introduction to the financial markets. Levinson provides a practical, concise, readable examination of the topic, which is useful for the novice financier. I would highly recommend this book for finance or economics graduates, wishing to pursue a career in finance/banking. It will arm you with very useful finance knowledge you won’t have gained in the classroom. The book examines the where, when, why, what and how of bond, money, foreign exchange, equity, financial futures, commodities, securitisation, options and derivatives markets.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
definitely recommended. Gives a clear and comprehensive overview of financial markets and products - nicely written rather being full of formulas... so explains concepts very well. Good buy!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2003
This book provides a great overview of the workings of the financial markets. It is accessible to beginners on the subject, while still providing quite a bit of detail. Ideal for anyone who wants a "snapshot" of today's financial markets!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
A very good beginners guide to economics covering all aspects of modern day economic structures. This is a must read to set you on your way to understanding the complex structure and theory behind economics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
... if you're looking for an introductory/ beginners' guide to financial markets.

This book is essentially an overview of financial markets, but it can be particularly unintelligible and assumes that you already have at least an intermediate/ graduate level understanding of this subject.

I'm currently in the throes of finishing a degree in Economics, and I found this book to be confusing, frustrating and, as a consequence of it not explaining key-concepts well, utterly tedious. If I hadn't studied economics at the level that I have, then I would have been completely lost.

I didn't rate it 1 star because it doesn't explicitly say that this guide is for beginners. Unless you have a good grasp of the subject material already and are wishing to merely consolidate your knowledge and understanding, then avoid this book.

My advice would be to use Wikipedia or Khan Academy, if you're interested in learning about financial markets from scratch, as both elucidate this subject far more than this book, and they're free resources.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
This book gives a great insight but can be difficult to get through and can be very dry at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
Helps make sense of complicated markets. Well written and up-to-date, recommended for students, economists or the curious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
Good book. Came in good time and in pristine condition. I'm just gonna read it like a novel.......fits my hobby reading lists. I cant review in detail cos I haven't had so much time to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)