Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
1,725
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2016
Saw the film first, so wanted to read the book. Enjoyed it, and it clarified what was added to the film that wasn't actually in the book, but that was OK. She sounds like a very interesting lady with a sad history behind her eccentricity, and Alan Bennett showed amazing patience, compasson and kindness in allowing her to remain in his driveway for so long, and then following the trail to discover her back story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
This is a short, but brilliant read - made all the more enjoyable knowing it is a true story.
Alan Bennetts keen observations of Life, and the people in it, add to the humour and emotion expressed throughout the book.
This 15 year dialogue is a tribute to Alan's generosity - Society would be a far better place if more people were as compassionate as he, to those less fortunate around them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Alan Bennet's sense of humour is dry but with an amusement that satisfies one fully. In diary form writing about a lady that many of us will have come across at least once in our lifetime. I could almost smell the van and see this precious soul living a vagrant life with such grace and aplomb... Excellent reading...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Enjoyable albeit short read. Having previously watched the film I decided to read the book, thinking this would give me a further insight into this character and her life. I have to say I was a tad disappointed with the sparse diary entries and very brief descriptions of this colourful character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
I really enjoy watching, listening to and reading Alan Bennett. He's so dead pan, but wickedly funny, and this book is great. I can vividly imagine the old lady living in a van outside his home, and the conversations they had. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed the book by Alan Bennett, what a marvellous patient man he is. Havent been able to see the film yet but looking forward to it. I could imagine Maggie Smith in it just made for her. Super read couldnt put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
The story Alan Bennett tells of Miss Shepard is by turns amusing, sad and heuristic.

A remarkable tale of tolerance. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Watched the film first but the book is much better more real to life . A real page turner, if you have seen the film read the book.☺ 🚐
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
Having seen the movie first and read the book after I really enjoyed reading this book and some of the humour gave me an image of the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
I decided to read this book due to the film version being advertised and recent programs with Maggie Smith in, it was not as I imagined it would be, not having read any of Bennett's other works however it was enjoyable but not as detailed as I'd imagined it would be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)