Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2009
Looks great, but text is disappointing. Not really his fault - book based around a question and answer approach and the questions asked just didn't get him talking! Far to many dull questions about Nigella which don't belong here at all! I bought this book based on an interview with Saatchi in The Telegraph and expected lots of intelligent text - what I got was repetition, large fonts and rather to many 'yes' or 'no' answers to lengthy questions! Borrow, don't buy!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
I can't say it's a particularly scintillating read, Saatchi comes across as a cynical and elitist character with answers that cause little inspiration.
Some of his answers are quite contradictory and others, well, aren't answers.

Despite this, for such a cheap price you can't complain too much, it provides a little insight into the man, but if you were hoping to find
some kind of inspiration or memorable quote, you won't find it in here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Well the title gives it away. If you are hoping that this long awaited Saatchi book is full of tips on 'how to run an advertising agency', you'll be disappointed. Although there are references to his 'previous' life, they are almost begrudgingly given. Saatchi has obviously moved on to the wonderful world of contemporary art and given that art is clearly an important part of his new life he still manages to portray himself as blaise, dismissive, cynical and generally disinterested! I found it a self indulgent depressing read. But to be fair, at least it is a small book and I admit I am more interested in advertising than art!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
The whole text could be resized to 50% less pages...
There's nothing shocking in it; haven't really learned anything I already didn't know.
For new people to this world it might be an interesting book, perhaps...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2009
This is a wonderfully funny and insightful look into the mind of the man himself. The questions are from journalists, fans, other art collectors, and are all answered in a free and frank way by Charles Saatchi.

Anyone who has ever wondered what he is like (renowned for shying away from his own gallery openings) or anyone who is interested in art will love this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
I bought the book entitled 'It's not how good you are, it's how good you want to be' many years ago from Phaidon. I finally purchased this book and read it today.

The book contains many insights into a field (The Art World) which Saatchi is obviously an expert in and has much wisdom regarding the Art establishment in an easy to digest, no nonsense fashion.

Saatchi has a unique perspective of life and portrays this in the book without coming across as forceful. The book itself is an artwork, as utilizing an interview format, he actually manages to create an extremely entertaining autobiography which has hints of a biography as the questioners at times act as though they know the man, then he puts them (and us) straight.

Overall, this is an excellent read, highly advised and well worth the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
I really, really like this book!! Such an easy, readable book, with a lot of fun facts and witty remarks from the author! I've waited years for a Q&A like this with the art mogul, and this is a straight-to-the-point interview, just as you would expect!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Saatchi is the great philosopher of our times. If by that we mean, these times defined by junk mail & X Factor. One of the greats. He has has soared to great intellectual heights. How naieve those philosophers were to attempt to define and set out virtues and ethics before the junk philosopher himself had his turn. If only they had known. If only Aristotle had known that he should of left the big stuff for the true greats. Nous, that is the faculty of intuitive practical reasoning as a function of the mind, would be but mere footnote compared to Saatchi's 'Trollope', that is to say that which is and forever will be utter trollope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
He doesn't like interviews and obviously doesn't like answering questions either. This book has a Q&A format and his answers are short and to the point. That said, the price reflects the brevity of content and he makes interesting points. One also gets a very strong impression that he is being completely honest. Either that or he is a very persuasive ad man (maybe both?). I'd rather read people who say what they think and don't beat about the bush.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
I don't consider this a book. It is Charles Saatchi interviewing himself, obviously his favourite subject. I would call it a long magazine article, and not a very interesting one at that.
If you think Tracey Emin, The Chapman Brothers and Damien Hirst are the new Gods of British Art, you may be interested to hear what their discoverer has to say.... unfortunately, I am not, and found this book, which takes about ten minutes to read, dull, predictable and of no interest whatsoever. Why did I read it, you may well ask?
That is easy to answer. Because I was given it!
It was a very unwanted birthday present. I recently visited the Saatchi Chelsea Galleries. Great space, shame about the art.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)