Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 August 2002
Just the right balance of knowledge and not too awe inspiring for the beginner who wants to manage a colony without problems.
Also a reference book to come back to when you need it.
Excellent value.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
would be better with more helpful and up to date pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
A very informative and easy to read book on beekeeping. I am just starting out and this is extremely helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
Yes, this book does tell you everything you need to know, and Mr de Bruyn is an acknowledged expert, but .... the book could do with being re-edited to make it more usable to the reader who often wants to know (for instance) 'what do I do NOW with a large group of bees making comb on the outside of my hive---help!'. A step-by-step approach that is more clearly instructional, rather than a genial discourse, is what's needed.

Hooper is the better book for this. 'Bees at the bottom of the garden' is a good, but less detailed, alternative.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
This is my other Bible, not as reader freindly as Ted Hoopers Book, but a close second and well read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
An essential book for the library of any bee keeper. This is an excellent hardback book full of practical tips, photos and useful information for any beekeeper. Well written, and easy for a new beekeeper to follow. Unusually for a book of this kind, I read this cover to cover in a very short time. It will continue to be a useful reference source alongside Ted Hooper's book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
This is an excellent introduction to beekeeping, marred only by two things: 1. annoying misprints and mistakes. A frog is not a reptile! Larva is the singular, larvae the plural. etc. The book could have done with a good sub-editor. 2. While some procedures are carefully explained in full detail, others are left to the imagination. I could have done with a chapter on queen rearing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
A well written informative book that s easy to understand and will continue to be useful as a reference book for years to come
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Being a novice beekeeper I wanted a book that would help me through the huge learning curve that can be quite daunting. I found the book excellent in that it is written in terms I can understand and clearly explained. The book is excellent for a novice and will be a very good reference book for the future as my skills and knowledge increase. Money well spent and many a happy hour spent reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)