Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 October 2010
This new book explains all the pop-up mechanisms in a clear, colourful way that inspires you to get into making things straight away. The methods used avoid complicated measuring, which is great for someone like me who always manages to make a mistake somewhere. The projects at the back of the book are adaptable to lots of different situations and make you want to get stuck in to making them.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Duncan Birmingham has put together a "must buy" for anyone interested in the mechanics of pop-up paper engineering. His book takes you step by step through the 18 basic pop-up mechanisms then progresses to more and more complex designs. The illustrations usually explain things very clearly. The occasional ambiguity is resolved by simply making the structure described and following the descriptions with care.
This really is the biggest joy of the book. All you need are some thin card, scissors and glue. You don't just look at the book, you get stuck in (pun intended!) cutting out the shapes, folding and assembling them. No detailed measuring is required. In next to no time you'll have amazed yourself with your portfolio of pop-ups. If you have an artistic bent there are no limits to where you can carry on from the fundamental knowledge this great book will teach you.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
I am the author of this book. Over the years I've noticed that many people find accurate measuring the most difficult and off-putting aspect of making pop-ups. This book explains a simple way of making complex pop-ups without measuring. I hope you enjoy it.
55 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
This is a complete book of all the various mechanisms from which all designs are based. Easy to read with very clear illustrations of each stage. No specialised equipment is required to make these, and I have tried out several of these designs using just some old birthday cards and the card flyers that come with the mail.
Suitable for all ages and skill levels, it teaches in a playful way. The range is huge and I believe everyone can get enjoyment out of this book.
An all inclusive manual; tools, paper type and weight, the standard basic mechanisms, the maths to go with it (if you want to experiment), variations on the theme and other development ideas are all given. There are templates in the back, which you will need to hand copy, scan or photocopy to use, to make 14 projects.
A practical book, you can get making straight away using the examples given, and let your imagination take over thereafter. Very stimulating for the mind, and in conjunction with 'Mark Hiner's, Up-Pops: Paper Engineering with Elastic Bands', you have all you will ever need to be an advanced paper engineer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
The book was in perfect condition but the contents were not as clear as I expected. There are very few pop-up templates in the book and I wouldn't recommend it for a first approach for pop-ups.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
The previous book by Duncan Birmingham on 3D pop-up was a remarkable encyclopaedia of all known mechanisms. Unfortunately, it was out of print, and second-hand copies were only to be had at really high cost. This new book, with much better illustrations, and models for several more complex projects, improves a lot on its predecessor. Not only does it explain all basic mechanisms and the way to combine them to create intricate pop-ups, but it also presents a unique method of making them without having to measure or compute. This book is an absolute must in the bookshelf of amateurs and experts.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I own both this book and the previous book by D. Birmingham. The old book is now out of print and copies sell for a fortune! My advice is buy this new book now whilst it is still available, (especially at this incredibly low price), because once it's gone you'll probably end up paying a fortune for this too.

This book makes the whole process of designing your own pop-ups amazingly simple, it will save you hours of messing about trying to measure everything.
I've used it with my kids who also found it very easy to understand. But don't be fooled by the simplicity, this new book will provide you with all the knowledge you need to make just about any pop-up you can dream up, but without all the headache!
Happy to recommend.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Lots of good examples of pop up mechanisms.
Has been very handy and I use this a lot in my teaching practice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
A great book. I consider myself a paper engineer of sorts, so buying this book was a done deal. Great ideas, a nice layout and easy to follow instructions (as long as you know the different folding techniques.) I will refer to this many times, along with my other favourite 'Up pops' .Up-pops: Paper Engineering with Elastic Bands.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
I've had a bit of experience with simple pop up making before, but this book has really helped me create fancier and more complicated pop up work. The instructions and diagrams are really easy to follow, and you can customise each pop-up for what you need. I've just completed a story book of pop ups and moving mechanisms and this book has been a godsend for helping me! If you're just starting out or have some basic experience, this book will really help you :-)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)