Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2013
A book of beauty and a book to learn by, if you have a 'Feel' for what is in your heart when you photograph it then get this book. It is a slow read with more information than any manual. I am thumbing my way through a piece called 'Choosing a location' in there a passage tells of checking weather before you go photographing, getting the best of light not any light but dramatic light. This is the book all over - Light- hence it's title. The photographs within will blow your breath away if you dabble in photography, it will give you food for thought, information on how. An adage to kit!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Well written and informative for Landscape photographers, Ian Cameron is a perfectionist, which is fine in his photography but makes his writing a little dense and distant. Landscape aficionados will find much to enjoy and practise here, but there is a definite style to both the photography pictures and the technique, and it might not suit everyone. It is good however that he does not err by being too general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Once I picked this book up it was impossible to put down. Its full of practical information that guides you through every facet of landscape photography and stimulates your creative desires. Well, worth reading, you wont be disappointed!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
This is a book that I just could not put down, not a mammoth tome but one that certainly covers much more than the basics about capturing truly stunning images of landscapes. Ian walks the reader through subjects such as 'Understanding Light', 'When to Shoot', 'Equipment', 'Field Trips' and 'Post Processing' in a way that will appeal to beginners and experienced photographers alike. Difficult subjects such as 'understanding light' are handled with a deftness that not only informs the reader 'how' a technique works but also 'why' it works. This allows the reader to take that knowledge in to the 'field' and apply it to different situations. I find myself picking up this book time and time again to re-read different sections and gaze in awe at the stunning examples of Ian's work.
Yes the book is pack full of Ian's photographs to show us how he puts all the elements of composition, light, technical knowledge and patience together to produce such mesmerising images.

An exceptional book that I whole heartedly recommend to anyone with an interest in landscape photography.
Don't be misled - just reading about the technical side of photography will not make you into a good photographer, the true skill lies in getting out and using that knowledge by putting what you have learnt into practice. This book will inspire you to go out and try to capture better photographs by applying Ian's techniques.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
Ian is one of my favourite landscape photographers and knows the game inside out,he explains the technique in a easy to understand way,If you are into landscape like i am,buy this book,you will not be disapointed
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
Having been once told by a professional Photographer on a course that I was a walker not a photographer (because I asked why nobody had made a rucksack, designed to take photographic gear and enough walking equipment for a serious trip into the hills!)I took great joy from seeing the wonderful photographs in Ian Cameron book. They epitomise what I can only strive to capture, those fleeting moments, when the light is just right.
He is what my tutor above, would no doubt by definition, class as a "walker". After reading this book, it is a definition I would be proud to ware
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Although a bit light on text (There are descriptions of some of the shots and how they are made, but could have been a bit more detailed)
The photographs themselves are worth the price of this book, simply stunning!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This book is very good at learning about effective light for landscape photography, I have had a really good look at my images & I have seen a great improvement quality of my images, and in comments online on 500 px (Realdelboy) have also improved since reading this book. The author uses a Pentax 6x7 film camera, do not worry about this, if you are a digital photographer, as he talks so well on the subject of light, you will just think how it will work for you & your technique.

Fine book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
Although written by someone who mostly uses film, this book is a must have for anyone who is keen on getting exposure and technique right. His photos are beautiful and he gives the settings for each picture he takes. Explains in simple terms about the best kit to have. No frills, just a good solid book, imparting excellent practical knowledge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
I recently bought a new DSLR and this book has allowed me to grow in confidence in its use. It is straight forward and easy to understand. Unlike some other books which try to make things complicated this book does not. I would highly recommend this book if you are starting or experienced as it has something for everyone.Outlining exposure and techniques we all need when trying to get that perfect picture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)